Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C1 or LR4.4?  (Read 3180 times)

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
C1 or LR4.4?
« on: June 27, 2013, 03:47:55 pm »

Hi,

The enclosed images show my conversions of a P45+ image using C1 and LR4.4. I have been using LR4.4 since 2006, but I am new to C1. I appretiate any comments.

The raw image is here: http://echophoto.dnsalias.net/ekr/Articles/MFDJourney/Samples/LR_vs_C1/20130624-CF043138.iiq

A color checker image shoot at the same time in similar light is here: http://echophoto.dnsalias.net/ekr/Articles/MFDJourney/Samples/LR_vs_C1/20130624-CF043156.iiq

Please, feel invited to try and comment.

Best regards
Erik
Erik Kaffehr

Schewe

• http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: C1 or LR4.4?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 12:52:36 am »

The enclosed images show my conversions of a P45+ image using C1 and LR4.4. I have been using LR4.4 since 2006, but I am new to C1. I appretiate any comments.

While the raw file came in with .xmp settings (which BTW I don't really agree with) the C1 version did not...what were your C1 settings? What profile, what tnoe curve? I played with your CC shot in C1 and ACR 8.1 with Adobe Standard...the CC shots are close if you set C1 to the P1 P45+ Daylight profile and a linear curve (C1's default tone curves are often much brighter than ACR/LR's default)

So, the question is, do you want to adjust the ACR/LR to match the C1 rendering or do you want to have the C1 match the ACR/LR rendering? Are you trying to match one to the other or to get the best overall result in C1 and LR?

ErikKaffehr

• Echophoto
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2013, 01:07:16 am »

Jeff,

Thanks for looking!

I guess I wan't the best rendition of either converter, and than I would be interested how that was achieved. Than I would be interested in the fundamental differences if any. It is about learning, mostly.

The way I feel, Phase One experts recommend the use of Capture 1 but you need to learn to use the tool to get good results.

Best regards
Erik