Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)  (Read 6864 times)

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3403
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« on: June 27, 2013, 02:43:17 PM »

Capture One version 7.1.3 has added an interesting feature (which is currently labeled beta): you can import a Lightroom catalog into a Capture One catalog in just two clicks (and a few hours of waiting for the import/preview-generation).

We have extensive details here: Capture One's New Lightroom Catalog Import Tool

Of note exposure, contrast, saturation, crop, orientation, rating, color tag, and copyright are all imported.

It seems a very clear shot across the bow of Lightroom geared towards users who would like to use C1 for it's raw processing quality and pro features (overlay, color editor, focus mask, tethering with live view etc) but are locked into using LR because they have an extensive catalog.

I'd say the feature works pretty well as-is, but it is very clearly marked as a beta, so we recommend strongly against using it on any production machines, and only on copies of your catalog (not the master copies).

jwlimages

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2013, 07:24:58 PM »

Hi Doug,

Thanks for posting this. I had noticed this - and your caution about not using it yet - and was going to ask if anyone had tried it yet. Call me chicken, I guess...

Along the same lines, sort of - have been wondering about C1 (& Media Pro too, IiR) using .xmp "sidecar" files. I have been using Lightroom catalogs to manage raw files & more, but occasionally access those same raws to process with C1. If I enable that checkbox in C1 to write .xmps, will it over-write the ones Lightroom has already generated? You can tell I don't want to find out the hard way.

John
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2351
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 12:34:03 PM »

Mac only :-(

Hopefully a Windows version will arrive one day.
Logged

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10688
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2013, 01:56:07 PM »

Mac only :-(

Hopefully a Windows version will arrive one day.
+1.

Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org

ihv

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.flickr.com/ihv
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2013, 03:56:22 PM »

+1

Adobe has recently made quite an effort to get rid of their customers starting with the cloud.

Shorter lifecycle for LR sounded good in the beginning, even though that didn't reflect in the price. That was fine.
But the lack of producing quickfixes for serious issues and the complete lack to give an estimate for the fixes is beyond me.

See yourself the Lightroom forum, no official support but users trying to find fixes by themselves by using third party applications:
http://forums.adobe.com/community/labs/lightroom5
http://forums.adobe.com/community/lightroom





Logged

Vladimirovich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1320
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2013, 06:18:47 PM »


Adobe has recently made quite an effort to get rid of their customers starting with the cloud.


LR still has perpetual license, what its users have to complain about ? unlike ACR users.
Logged

ButchM

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 571
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2013, 08:43:07 PM »

LR still has perpetual license, what its users have to complain about ? unlike ACR users.

Well, it's perpetual for now ...

Unfortunately the only enhancements and improvements of any consequence that have been added to Lr is in the Develop module (aka ACR) the other modules exist in relative obscurity by comparison when it comes to any further capabilities ... or the improvements added ... seem to be taking those modules in the wrong direction (i.e. the Book module) ...

While I don't mind the improvements in Develop ... I will not support or reward Adobe for their efforts when they are selling me an upgrade to the entire application ... unless and until they bring all the modules up to speed and the same level of worthiness as the Develop module, I will continue use other solutions ... I'll not throw good money after bad ...
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2351
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2013, 01:40:42 AM »

LR still has perpetual license, what its users have to complain about ?
Photoshop had a perpetual licence at the start of the year too.
If CC is perceived as a success for Adobe do you seriously think they won't apply the rental model to all their products ?
Given their track record of saying one thing then changing policy a few months later, I wouldn't trust them too much now.

What have we to complain about ? the under whelming upgrade that is LR5 for a start.
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5955
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2013, 03:04:28 AM »

What have we to complain about ? the under whelming upgrade that is LR5 for a start.

Ya know, at some point, you might want to quit flogging the dead horse...I mean, the horse is dead...it's starting to decompose...the skin is coming off the corpse.

This thread ain't about all the Adobe Hatred...this thread is about Phase One offering a migration from Lightroom to Capture one. What part of that don't you get? Do you use Capture One? I do...I find the migration interesting (although maybe just a bit optimistic because what LR does for processing ain't the same as C1).

So, do you want to talk about the topic of the thread or keep flogging the dead horse...the horse is dead ya know. It's really starting to stink.
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2351
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2013, 03:18:55 PM »

Ya know, at some point, you might want to quit flogging the dead horse...I mean, the horse is dead...it's starting to decompose...the skin is coming off the corpse.
Yes and I'm as bored with it as you. Why pick on me ? I've been a vocal fan of LR since the first public beta, I'm not one of the anti-Adobe crowd shouting you down all the time. I've pointed out several times it's futile arguing about it and highlighting the few good aspects of CC.
But that doesn't stop the latest LR upgrade being so underwhelming or convince me that it will remain on perpetual licence. I'm looking around and having an upgradable licence for C1 makes me look closely at that particular escape route from LR.
Quote
this thread is about Phase One offering a migration from Lightroom to Capture one. What part of that don't you get? Do you use Capture One?
Yes, and it's nice to see a migration solution being worked on so soon after it was requested. All to Phase One's credit for listening to it's customers and potential customers.
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5955
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2013, 03:47:20 PM »

Yes and I'm as bored with it as you. Why pick on me ?

Actually, I'm sorry I quoted you instead of Butch...although your post didn't do anything to stay on topic either. But it was Butch's post that was the most egregious...in any event, it does nobody any good to keep sprinkling the anti-Adobe message hither and yon...
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2351
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2013, 03:59:17 PM »

although your post didn't do anything to stay on topic either.
See reply #2
Quote
it does nobody any good to keep sprinkling the anti-Adobe message hither and yon...
I'm sure the Adobe evangelists don't like to see people praising other companies for offering some competition, but raising awareness of alternatives can be helpful to others.

Your one man campaign of abuse against anyone daring to say anything that might be taken as against Adobe is getting mighty tedious of late. If you want the fire to die down, stopped feeding it.
Logged

ButchM

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 571
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #12 on: July 02, 2013, 04:07:39 PM »

But it was Butch's post that was the most egregious...

That's just priceless ....  :D  :D  :D
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5955
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #13 on: July 02, 2013, 04:11:25 PM »

See reply #2I'm sure the Adobe evangelists don't like to see people praising other companies for offering some competition, but raising awareness of alternatives can be helpful to others.

Guess you missed the part where I said: "I do...I find the migration interesting (although maybe just a bit optimistic because what LR does for processing ain't the same as C1)."

I own a Phase One IQ180 back and use C1 for tethering to my P1 645 camera...so I have a vested interest in seeing C1 advance (although I tend to prefer LR's processing).
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3600
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #14 on: July 02, 2013, 04:30:37 PM »

I'm sure the Adobe evangelists don't like to see people praising other companies for offering some competition, but raising awareness of alternatives can be helpful to others.
I doubt anyone cares!

It's a sensible move by C1, but one thing that's always been good about Adobe if they don't go out of their way to make such an exercise difficult. Here C1 are directly accessing the SQL, which is a bit of a surprise, but all IPTC and most adjustment data has always been readable in other apps via XMP. And why shouldn't Lightroom do the same and directly import other databases?

John

Alan Smallbone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 572
    • APS Photography
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2013, 04:34:35 PM »

Doug thanks for posting this, I had been asking for a way to import catalogs, but I guess I have to wait for the windows version to try it out, something to look forward to.

Alan
Logged
Alan Smallbone
Orange County, CA

hjulenissen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2009
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2013, 04:36:35 PM »

And why shouldn't Lightroom do the same and directly import other databases?
Agreed.

-h
Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2351
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2013, 04:44:25 PM »

And why shouldn't Lightroom do the same and directly import other databases?
No reason at all, it could be sensible for them.
Can I see them doing it ? not at all. I doubt they'd consider the effort(=cost) worthwhile. Plus whilst I think a lot of people will give a smaller player like Phase One some slack if they don't get it right for the first few times, if Adobe release a poor offering it would be heavily criticised.

Lightroom's cataloguing is the key feature for them to develop and improve on as it keeps users locked into the product and less likely to migrate elsewhere.
I find it remarkable that they aren't putting more effort into improving this part of the program for that reason alone.
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3600
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2013, 04:59:15 PM »

No reason at all, it could be sensible for them.
Can I see them doing it ? not at all. I doubt they'd consider the effort(=cost) worthwhile. Plus whilst I think a lot of people will give a smaller player like Phase One some slack if they don't get it right for the first few times, if Adobe release a poor offering it would be heavily criticised.

Lightroom's cataloguing is the key feature for them to develop and improve on as it keeps users locked into the product and less likely to migrate elsewhere.
I find it remarkable that they aren't putting more effort into improving this part of the program for that reason alone.
If you had your eyes peeled when Lr4 was released a year ago, you might have noticed brief hints of an import feature, not with P1 but another well-known app.

Though I share the frustration at the slow progress in Library, it's the app as a whole and not just Library that deters people from moving. Adobe know they can afford to improve it at a leisurely pace.

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2351
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom Catalog --> Capture One Catalog (Beta tool)
« Reply #19 on: July 02, 2013, 05:18:17 PM »

Adobe know they can afford to improve it at a leisurely pace.
Whilst that seems to reflect the latest upgrade, it's a complacent attitude to take.
Read through Lula and there are many people who see benefits in using other RAW converters like Capture One, DXO etc
Whilst at the moment I use and like LR4, I've tried others and could imagine using them instead of LR. An awful lot of the learning investment in RAW conversion is program agnostic and transferable. A change of licensing model or a failure to develop the product sufficiently will see me move elsewhere.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up