Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: No Preview on Import!?  (Read 2127 times)

Slobodan Blagojevic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9402
  • When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.
    • My website
No Preview on Import!?
« on: June 26, 2013, 04:07:16 PM »

What causes that some images show up and others do not? Slow transfer rate?

EDIT: I am on LR4.4
« Last Edit: June 26, 2013, 05:29:29 PM by Slobodan Blagojevic »
Logged

Hans Kruse

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1389
    • Hans Kruse Photography
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2013, 04:49:48 PM »

Good question... I have had this happen a number of times within the last 3-4 months on LR4 and also on LR5. If I cancel the import and click import again it is usually resolved. But is seems like a timing problem which is strange and in my book should not happen.

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2013, 05:01:15 PM »

The times I've seen this are with PSD's that I assume don't have Image Previews saved in them.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2013, 05:12:23 PM »

Correction, I see this on PSD's when Maximize PSD Compatibility is OFF. I opened one such doc, saved it with my defaults (Compatibly ON) and LR saw the preview. And the resulting document was much larger in size. I see your documents are CR2s which I can't explain. Seems like the embedded preview is missing.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Eric Myrvaagnes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11173
    • http://myrvaagnes.com
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2013, 06:46:45 PM »

What causes that some images show up and others do not? Slow transfer rate?

EDIT: I am on LR4.4
Hey, Slobodan. Maybe it's LR's way of saying "NSFW." What kind of seamy stuff have you been photographing?   :D  :D  :D
Logged
-Eric Myrvaagnes

http://myrvaagnes.com  Visit my photo website. New images each season. Also visit my new website: http://ericneedsakidney.org

Slobodan Blagojevic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9402
  • When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.
    • My website
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2013, 06:50:41 PM »

I wish ;D

elied

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2013, 01:51:14 AM »

Have you tried changing the card reader/usb cable? Do other applications, like Explorer/Finder show the thumbnails?
Logged
Roll over Ed Weston,
Tell Ansel Adams the news

Slobodan Blagojevic

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9402
  • When everybody thinks the same... nobody thinks.
    • My website
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2013, 02:53:18 PM »

On second attempt, everything was fine. However, I wonder if that is because I already had them imported before, though I deleted the files from the computer afterwards and purged the cache.

I just remember seeing this on occasion before, i.e., that some files show (as is the case in the OP example) and some do not. There was no other difference between files, they are all RAW and shot on the same day, with the same lens, etc.

thierrylegros396

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1310
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2013, 03:02:19 PM »

Have sometimes experienced same problem with LR4.4 and LR5 ??? ::)
Logged

PhotoEcosse

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 712
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2013, 05:32:09 AM »

Occasionally I have noticed this - in both LR4 and LR5.

It's not a problem (for me). As soon as I "mouse-over" the blank image, the preview appears.
Logged
************************************
"Reality is an illusion caused by lack of alcohol."
Alternatively, "Life begins at the far end of your comfort zone."

NikoJorj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1057
    • http://nikojorj.free.fr/
Re: No Preview on Import!?
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2013, 08:53:10 AM »

It's not a problem (for me). As soon as I "mouse-over" the blank image, the preview appears.
Same for me, I only (but often) see that during an import, when LR has done the file copy and sql referencing but not yet any preview rendering. Solved by waiting a few seconds.
It might well be that somethings hungs your machine in a frozen space-time vortex, or some similar oddity.
Logged
Nicolas from Grenoble
A small gallery
Pages: [1]   Go Up