Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: renaming virtual copies  (Read 1667 times)

tongelsing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
renaming virtual copies
« on: June 21, 2013, 07:07:32 AM »

Is there a way to rename virtual copies independent of the original ones.
If I try to rename a virtual copy the original changes his name but copy1 remains copy1.

ton
Logged

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2515
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2013, 07:32:58 AM »

No. That would be counter to the whole point of VCs.
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my web page
View my Facebook page

tongelsing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2013, 08:08:49 AM »

Thats not fully true.
I just found a way to change the name's of the VT's one by one in the metadata-panel.
But I want to automate it.

Ton
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3600
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2013, 08:36:20 AM »

You can only automatically change the copy name field by coding. My Search and Replace plugin does it, though I've never heard of anyone doing so.

John

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 859
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2013, 10:03:55 AM »

You can only automatically change the copy name field by coding. My Search and Replace plugin does it, though I've never heard of anyone doing so.

John



John makes a good point.  Use the copyname to rename your VC.  I have adopted doing this so I can track what changes were done.

On export, you can select the copyname...or title, comment, etc.....to rename the image.  
Logged
John

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3600
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2013, 10:10:11 AM »

If I did, it wasn't what I intended ;) . That plugin allows you, for example, to change the "Copy 1" to the value of the Process Version or the cropped dimensions, without exporting. I suspect you're making a different, good, point about renaming as part of an export.

Jeff Magidson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 167
    • Artslides Digital Imaging
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2013, 10:51:05 AM »

On this topic... I WISH there was a way to duplicate a raw file from within Lr. I want 2 files (with different names) of the same image with different develop settings and their own individual sidecar files.

~ Jeff

http://artslidesboston.com
Logged
~ Jeff Magidson
Custom Archival Printing
http://artslidesboston.com

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3600
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2013, 11:32:21 AM »

I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for that.

What you can do is export, choosing Original as the format. So you double the disc space, have duplicate files which will come back to bite you, when you can already achieve alternative renderings with VCs.

Jeff Magidson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 167
    • Artslides Digital Imaging
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2013, 12:22:07 PM »

I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for that.

What you can do is export, choosing Original as the format. So you double the disc space, have duplicate files which will come back to bite you, when you can already achieve alternative renderings with VCs.

I'm always thinking "what if?" Virtual copies are dependent on your catalog. If for some reason your catalog get corrupted, you will loose your virtual copies.
I view having sidecar files as a way to hedge against ever loosing my development work.
Logged
~ Jeff Magidson
Custom Archival Printing
http://artslidesboston.com

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 859
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #9 on: June 21, 2013, 12:53:49 PM »

I'm always thinking "what if?" Virtual copies are dependent on your catalog. If for some reason your catalog get corrupted, you will loose your virtual copies.
I view having sidecar files as a way to hedge against ever loosing my development work.

Which is why one should backup their catalog.

If space is an issue, this plugin will zip the cat to about 1/3....plus backup your config/preset files.
http://www.photographers-toolbox.com/products/mdawson/tpglrbackup/
Logged
John

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3600
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: renaming virtual copies
« Reply #10 on: June 21, 2013, 12:58:56 PM »

That's a reason for wanting sidecars to contain virtual copy metadata, not for creating duplicates of your originals. I'd prefer Adobe to merge the snapshot and VC concepts, which would get you where you want.

But the safeguard against corruption is your catalogue backups. Remember how much of your Lightroom work simply isn't in sidecars. At best sidecars are a second-rate backup.
Pages: [1]   Go Up