Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Installing LR 5 over LR 4  (Read 2173 times)

HDProman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« on: June 11, 2013, 08:59:41 PM »

I have my preferences set not to store presets with my catalog. Will LR 5 automatically find and use my existing presets or do I need to manually copy them to a new location?

What are the pros and cons of having the presets stored or not with the catalog?

Thanks, Floyd...

Logged

ario

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 170
Re: Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2013, 10:21:55 PM »

LR5 will find your existing presets where they are.
The optimal place to store the presets depends on how many catalogs and how many computers you are using. I tend to use a single catalog on different computers so I found convenient to store the presets with the catalog.
The only drawback is that certain third party preset will not install automatically on the catalog (but you can copy them manually).
Logged

msoon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
    • Product Photography by Mark Soon
Re: Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2013, 05:42:32 AM »

I'm wondering if installing LR5 over 4 will mess with the VSCO preset filter set?
Logged
Product Photography Portfolio - http://www.marksoon.com

ario

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 170
Re: Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2013, 06:44:39 AM »

I'm wondering if installing LR5 over 4 will mess with the VSCO preset filter set?
No, it doesn't
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11528
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2013, 06:51:03 AM »

What are the pros and cons of having the presets stored or not with the catalog?

For me, the pro's are that if you backup/clone this data to multiple drives as I do, it's always accessible when you use those drives (location drive vs. Desktop). I haven't had two cups of coffee yet this morning, I don't know what the disadvantages are.

It would be real useful if the next version of LR had a better means of syncing all the user created data: DNG and Lens profiles, presets no matter where stored etc.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 857
Re: Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2013, 09:30:14 AM »

For me, the pro's are that if you backup/clone this data to multiple drives as I do, it's always accessible when you use those drives (location drive vs. Desktop). I haven't had two cups of coffee yet this morning, I don't know what the disadvantages are.

It would be real useful if the next version of LR had a better means of syncing all the user created data: DNG and Lens profiles, presets no matter where stored etc.

Hi, Andrew...

I have found 'LR Backup' to be quite useful....

http://www.photographers-toolbox.com/products/mdawson/tpglrbackup/

Of course, I think it only works if you do not store with catalog....at least I have not tried that.  I do find that if I need to move presets,etc.  from one machine to another, these backup files allow me to easily do it.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2013, 09:32:25 AM by jrsforums »
Logged
John

wolfnowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5821
    • M&M's Musings
Re: Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2013, 02:18:20 AM »

I only use one catalogue per release, and I have my images within the Pictures folder and my Lightroom catalogues, etc. also within that folder (all within subfolders, etc.)  Older images are archived on an external drive, also within a Pictures folder.  By backing up that one folder (and subfolders), I back up my images, my catalogue(s, including older versions), my presets, keywords, previews and pretty much everything associated with LR.  The actual program and system presets, etc. are stored in different locations.

Mike.
Logged
If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~

My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings

Hans Kruse

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1376
    • Hans Kruse Photography
Re: Installing LR 5 over LR 4
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2013, 02:58:04 AM »

I backup and optimize my catalog on a regular basis and back it up separately.

Other than that, I have one machine, one catalog and back it all up using Time Machine (Mac) on multiple drives (one in the office and one for the road). Older pictures are on an external USB 3 drive which is synchronized with several other drives and always one on another location. I also have online backup of everything in the cloud here http://www.backblaze.com/
Pages: [1]   Go Up