Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?  (Read 36867 times)

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128

After a day's use, DxO Optics Pro seems kind-of OK, but it quickly became obvious that I've become accustomed to making a few selective adjustments on more or less each photo.

So what do people use with DxO Optics Pro for those selective adjustments?
(Suggestions other than LR, PS, PSE please.)
Logged

kirkt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2013, 12:42:33 PM »

Photoline:

www.pl32.com

kirk
Logged

Sigi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
    • http://www.betterphoto.com/Premium/default.aspx?id=267034&mp=V2
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2013, 03:00:44 AM »

I use NIK software

Phil Indeblanc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1842
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2013, 08:42:53 PM »

What do you mean by selective adjustments?

Are you referring to a Gradient or brush in a selected area, or??...
Or are you referring to placing the cursor on the point of adjustment area in one region to adjust things such as ....
/color/illumination, as well as the dark/shadow/light/highlight (terms from LR modules) ?

I've been considering DxO in my mix of Dev apps.
Logged
If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...

Vladimirovich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1320
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2013, 10:26:03 PM »

(Suggestions other than LR, PS, PSE please.)

Adobe Bridge runs ACR w/o PS   ;)
Logged

Bryan Conner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
    • My Flickr page
Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5778
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2013, 06:19:38 AM »

So what do people use with DxO Optics Pro for those selective adjustments?
(Suggestions other than LR, PS, PSE please.)

Hi,

Topaz Labs photoFXlab is both a stand-alone application and a PS plugin. It has several useful controls which can be applied on blending layers, and it can use the excellent Topaz Labs plugins on those individual layers. There are some tutorials here.

Photoline (mentioned in an earlier post) is another very capable program, and it allows to use PS plugins, including those from Topaz Labs.

Cheers,
Bart
« Last Edit: August 08, 2013, 06:25:43 AM by BartvanderWolf »
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2013, 06:09:32 PM »

What do you mean by selective adjustments?

Are you referring to a Gradient or brush in a selected area, or??...

Yes, and removing the 100' pine tree that's obscuring the sub-alpine lake, and moving bluebird sky into the top corner of a composite image that I somehow neglected to photograph (I blame it on the altitude), and...


Topaz Labs photoFXlab is both a stand-alone application...

Thanks, I actually have the demo installed but still need to install useful modules. Maybe soon, I have a couple of photos with both a near focus and a far focus which I've failed to satisfactorily merge with Enfuse or Hugin, so I'd like to add alpha masks and try again.

Logged

Vladimirovich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1320
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2013, 11:02:47 AM »

and, Isaac, why stop using already purchased PS product with perpetual license ? you replaced ACR/LR w/ other raw converter(s), but you still can get PS/PSE and use it w/o subscription... or you can still run old ACR on .tiff for local corrections even you do not upgrade to "CC" to get new ACRs for new cameras... not supporting Adobe (because of "CC") does not need to go that far
Logged

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2013, 12:10:51 PM »

not supporting Adobe (because of "CC") does not need to go that far

You seem to have confused me with BartvanderWolf.
Logged

Phil Indeblanc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1842
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2013, 09:16:56 PM »

Basically, you mean a pixel level editor.

Corel Paint is an Alternate to Photoshop
Logged
If you buy a camera, you're a photographer...

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2013, 12:28:15 PM »

Basically, you mean a pixel level editor.

Is that how you would describe LR? (Removed pine tree and moved bluebird sky.)

Is that how you would describe AfterShot Pro? (Selection + levels to create black masks for alpha channel composite images.)

Just one or two of the capabilities of a pixel level editor would be enough.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2013, 12:39:41 PM by Isaac »
Logged

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2013, 01:12:21 PM »

I'm confused by the apparent overlap between Topaz plugins -- afaict Topaz Clarity, Topaz Adjust, and Topaz Detail all seem much the same?
Logged

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2013, 09:22:11 PM »

Topaz Labs photoFXlab is both a stand-alone application and a PS plugin. It has several useful controls which can be applied on blending layers, and it can use the excellent Topaz Labs plugins on those individual layers.

I can see how to apply various effects; and, for example, do selective sharpening using the layer masks; and it was easy enough to composite images with different WB adjustments for different foreground/background lighting etc

Is there a basic clone stamp in photoFXlab?
Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5778
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2013, 05:03:18 AM »

I'm confused by the apparent overlap between Topaz plugins -- afaict Topaz Clarity, Topaz Adjust, and Topaz Detail all seem much the same?

Hi,

They target different things, and achieve different effects that cannot be achieved by the other plugins. There is some functionality overlap in the other features like selections/masking.

Here is a short description of the differences.

Here is an overview of the most common stage in the workflow where they are used.

They also have lots of webinars and videos on their YouTube channel about the various plugins, and here is a recent one about some of the differences between 'Adjust' and 'Detail'.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5778
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #15 on: September 24, 2013, 06:06:25 AM »

Is there a basic clone stamp in photoFXlab?

Hi,

Not a clone stamp as such, but one can duplicate or import layers, Mask them, and move/resize them.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2013, 10:56:36 AM »

Thanks -- I guess the trick is to figure out how to move a duplicated layer relative to the original.
Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5778
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2013, 11:06:07 AM »

Thanks -- I guess the trick is to figure out how to move a duplicated layer relative to the original.

You're welcome. It's not that difficult to move a layer in photoFXlab, just select the layer and use the controls at the top right hand side of the plugin as shown in the attached screenshot.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

Isaac

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3128
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2013, 01:52:16 PM »

Not difficult at all, once you know it's there ;-)

Unfortunately afaict these actions really don't provide the effectiveness of the LR Spot Removal Brush.
Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5778
Re: DxO Optics Pro -- but what to use for selective adjustments?
« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2013, 02:19:08 PM »

Not difficult at all, once you know it's there ;-)

Unfortunately afaict these actions really don't provide the effectiveness of the LR Spot Removal Brush.

That's correct, but then nobody claimed that these plugins would, because they are more geared at total image enhancement, not specifically for detailed Retouch like an image pixel oriented editor. For that there are plenty of alternatives. Fortunately, most Raw converters do offer spot removal.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up