Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Renaming image frustration  (Read 2764 times)

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 432
    • mdiimaging.com
Renaming image frustration
« on: May 20, 2013, 10:54:00 PM »

I send an image to CS6, bring back into LR and wish to rename it to keep track of what I did.  Go to library-> Rename image.  What comes up in the custom renaming window is the name of the last image I worked on.  This has no relation to image I  am working on now.  I wish it would bring up the name of the current image I am working on and allow to me change the name, instead of having to enter the entire name of the current image

How can I do this?

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

John Caldwell

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2013, 10:55:30 PM »

Tagged with interest; have wished for same thing.
Logged

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 847
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2013, 11:05:28 PM »

Select  'Filename Custom'
Logged
John

Rand47

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 737
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2013, 09:28:39 AM »

Why not merely "save as" when finished with edits in CS6?  Name it anything you like.
I do this routinely. Sometimes entirely new name, sometimes suffix to orig that is meaningful re edits.

Added note for clarity - when you do as above, the file name of the round-tripped file appears as you "saved as" in CS6, in LR.  No need to name change from within LR & less confusing IMO.  Most often "save as" is used when saving as a new file type, but you may just leave as tiff and only change the file name.

Rand
« Last Edit: May 21, 2013, 08:20:33 PM by Rand47 »
Logged
Rand Scott Adams

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 432
    • mdiimaging.com
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2013, 08:04:57 PM »

I am selecting Filename-custom.  What appears in the name window is the name of the previous, unrelated file name.

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 847
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2013, 10:14:20 PM »

I am selecting Filename-custom.  What appears in the name window is the name of the previous, unrelated file name.

MDIJB

Select the image you want to rename, hit F2...in drop down, select Filename-custom...you will get the name of the selected image, plus a place to input a custom suffix.  Is that not what you wanted?
Logged
John

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 432
    • mdiimaging.com
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2013, 08:13:03 PM »

This looks like what I want--will give it a try

Thanks

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 432
    • mdiimaging.com
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2013, 04:28:16 PM »

I do not see the option you showed in your post above.

Attached is what I see when trying to rename the image

Suggestions??

MDIJB

Logged
mdiimaging.com

Robert55

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2013, 04:58:38 PM »

If you select Edit, you'll get a floating menu that lets you choose which fields should be used in renaming. After you,ve created a new preset in this way, you can rename and save it by clicking on filename at the top of the menu.
I'm not sure whether it will do exactly what you want, I rarely use th feature as I can't get it to do exactly what I want :(
Logged

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 847
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2013, 06:21:17 PM »

I do not see the option you showed in your post above.

Attached is what I see when trying to rename the image

Suggestions??

MDIJB



I don't remember...I my have created it....it is easy...what 'Robert55' said.
Logged
John

HDProman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 26
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2013, 09:20:47 PM »

Have you tried selecting an image in the grid, go to the Metadata Panel on the right, click in the File Name box, and make your changes?

Floyd...
Logged

brianrybolt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 333
    • http://www.brianrybolt.com
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2013, 05:29:00 AM »

+1

I do this all the time. Quick, easy and it sticks.
Logged

mdijb

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 432
    • mdiimaging.com
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2013, 10:30:40 PM »

thanks,  I will give it a try

MDIJB
Logged
mdiimaging.com

aduke

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 398
Re: Renaming image frustration
« Reply #13 on: June 13, 2013, 10:37:26 PM »

Also, there is a batch rename icon at the end of the filename field. You can use it if you've selected multiple files. It uses the filename presets functionality.

Alan
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up