Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?  (Read 1279 times)

Scott Hargis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 220
    • Scott Hargis Photo
5D Mark III Focusing Screens?
« on: May 08, 2013, 05:19:46 PM »

I was just told by a B&H customer service rep that "There are no focusing screens for the 5dMiii."

Seriously? Is this guy just crazy? I find this hard to believe, and yet there are none listed on the B&H website. I'm inclined to think that the Mark II screens will work, but I'm reluctant to go stuffing the wrong screen in without getting some sort of verification that it'll fit.

Anyone know anything about this?

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5896
Re: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 06:54:44 PM »

Anyone know anything about this?

Hi Scott,

I don't have a 5D Mark III, so can't advise from experience, but what does the manual say?

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

Scott Hargis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 220
    • Scott Hargis Photo
Re: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2013, 07:01:59 PM »

I never read manuals, I just ask on forums...    ;)

But it did occur to me to call CPS, and it turns out, focusing screens are a thing of the past, sure enough. But there *is* an electronic version of it, that you can turn on in the menus. Works good, I'm all happy again.

jrsforums

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
Re: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2013, 07:28:24 PM »

I was just told by a B&H customer service rep that "There are no focusing screens for the 5dMiii."

Seriously? Is this guy just crazy? I find this hard to believe, and yet there are none listed on the B&H website. I'm inclined to think that the Mark II screens will work, but I'm reluctant to go stuffing the wrong screen in without getting some sort of verification that it'll fit.

Anyone know anything about this?

None from Canon.  It was not designed to have one.

I have seen 3rd party offerings, but have no experience with them.

Having used 3rd party screens on prior cameras, one potential issue (besides warranty issues if you mess something up) is that most of them will potentially cause metering problems as the metering is performed after the light passes through the screen (up into the prism).   
Logged
John

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5896
Re: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2013, 07:38:45 PM »

I never read manuals, I just ask on forums...    ;)

But it did occur to me to call CPS, and it turns out, focusing screens are a thing of the past, sure enough.

That's curious, but interesting.

Quote
But there *is* an electronic version of it, that you can turn on in the menus. Works good, I'm all happy again.

For my edification, what does it offer? I use a different focusing screen in my 1Ds3, because the physical characteristics of a different diffusion (better DOF estimation and manual focus accuracy with f/2.8 or wider optics) cannot really be compensated in software (as long as the viewfinder is all optical).

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

Scott Hargis

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 220
    • Scott Hargis Photo
Re: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2013, 08:13:07 PM »

Bart, all you get is a broad grid pattern -- there's no split-circle focusing aids, or even any options for the grid itself. Luckily, all I wanted was the grid they provide, so I'm happy enough.

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5896
Re: 5D Mark III Focusing Screens?
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2013, 08:53:47 PM »

Bart, all you get is a broad grid pattern -- there's no split-circle focusing aids, or even any options for the grid itself. Luckily, all I wanted was the grid they provide, so I'm happy enough.

Hi Scott,

I see, thanks for the answer.

Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==
Pages: [1]   Go Up