Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?  (Read 2288 times)

spotmeter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 322
    • http://www.photographica.us
Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?
« on: April 27, 2013, 11:56:55 PM »

I have no use for the pop-up flash on my Nikon D800E and the housing for this protrudes out over the aperture ring on my Zeiss lenses so that I have trouble seeing what aperture they are set at.

I was thinking of having the pop-up flash removed and the 'nose' with the large Nikon name in white cut off so that I can see the aperture ring.

Has anyone done this?

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2359
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2013, 03:31:12 AM »

An interesting way to remove any resale value from the camera.
Logged

StephenPinder

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2013, 09:42:14 AM »

Lol...
Logged

ACH DIGITAL

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 605
    • http://www.achdigital.com
Re: Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2013, 12:13:42 PM »

There are electronics involve. There are some cables and the camera would look ugly.
I wish the had't add that useless flash in a Pro camera.
If you use Tilt Shift adapters is a hassle too.
ACH
Logged
Antonio Chagin
www.achdigital.com

elf

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 245
Re: Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2013, 12:41:01 PM »

This is possible with Canons.  Are there any cutaway views of the D800 online?

p.s. It's a poor design that limits the size of lens or adaptors that can fit on the camera or as some have done adapt the camera to a view camera.
Logged

Rob C

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14008
Re: Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2013, 09:01:20 AM »

It really is a pain; I have never used the flash in either of my digital Nikons and see no time when I shall. It's a bloody complication and yet another bell or whistle I didn't want to buy.

A top camera should be basic but perfectly constructed. Ditto lenses.

Top lines should fit one another seamlessly without this nonsense of 'fine-tuning' of focus, for example, by the poor old client!

Who are these top-dog snappers (oy vey!) who need all this built-in-accessory hand-feeding in order to be able to make an accurate exposure?

Rob C

langier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 802
    • Celebrating Rural America and beyond
Re: Anyone cut the nose off the Nikon?
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2013, 01:25:54 PM »

I use the PC-E lenses and on my 300/700/800 and have simply learned to live with it and I'm quite happy. Even happier when I need a flash for fill or to trigger remote/ttl flashed and I don't have to have another cable, wireless controller or other device.

IMO, like video, that flash is simply another tool for my use that's there for me if and when I need it and can be ignored when I don't. When I found that I neither needed a flash to control my remotes, a PC cable or a wireless controller back in the days of my D100/D200 years ago, I didn't even want to consider going back to a pro-series Nikon and resisted upgrading to a "pro" body for several years. For my commercial/event photography and travel, that little and annoying built-in flash is a godsend!

Until the 7D, Canon didn't even have built-in ttl control, thus for my work, Canon had not what it took for my lighting. Though today the his ISOs and LED lighting is lessing my need for my wireless TTL, that flash still is a very viable feature.

But, as usual, your results will vary...
Logged
Larry Angier
ASMP, NAPP, ACT, and many more!

Webmaster, RANGE magazine
Editor emeritus, NorCal Quarterly

web--http://www.angier-fox.photoshelter.com
facebook--larry.angier
twitter--#larryangier
google+LarryAngier

OldRoy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 470
    • http://
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up