Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 7900 wasting canvas  (Read 750 times)

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2556
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
7900 wasting canvas
« on: April 26, 2013, 10:00:39 AM »

Given the price of high-quality canvas, this irks me! Here's the situation.

I print on a 24" roll and have the printer set to not cut the canvas. I advance the finished print out of the printer by a foot or a bit more so I can manually cut an inch or so from the edge of the print. This of course leaves quite a bit of blank canvas hanging out, so I press the paper release button and manually roll the canvas back onto the roll until just about an inch is visible under the printer - same as when I am loading the canvas initially. Then I press the paper release button again and proceed to make the next print. But, the next print always has a foot or so blank at the leading edge. Any ideas?
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my web page
View my Facebook page

BillK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 102
    • http://
Re: 7900 wasting canvas
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2013, 10:21:58 AM »

If after you manually cut the canvas you use the paper feed button (above the OK button) to retract the
canvas as far as it will go back into the printer, you should be fine. I do this all the time with no problem.

If you wait too long (several minutes) to retract the paper with the feed button it won't work and you would have to release the paper as you
have been doing.
Logged

davidh202

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 657
Re: 7900 wasting canvas
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2013, 03:57:50 PM »

I always ha unwind the canvas back out of the machine by releasing the feed rollers, and start the feed from scratch again.
The machine should reset the canvas, but when no cut is chosen it doesn't for some strange reason ::)

David
Logged

philbaum

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 72
Re: 7900 wasting canvas
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2013, 12:21:14 PM »

I don't know if the 7900 has this feature in the firmware, but my R3000 allows one to select roll (banner) as a source and then provides a check box if you want to minimize wastage.  That check box eliminates wasting in excess of 6" of canvas a print, down to less than 2".
Logged

PeterAit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2556
    • Peter Aitken Photographs
Re: 7900 wasting canvas
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2013, 12:25:21 PM »

Thanks for the replies!
Logged
Peter
"Photographic technique is a means to an end, never the end itself."
View my web page
View my Facebook page
Pages: [1]   Go Up