Recently I am running into a problem on Lightroom, that I did not have before. I am not sure if my workflow has changed or something has changed in Lightroom. Here goes.
There are a number of times when I select two pictures for side-by-side comparison. While looking at these, If I want to make modification to one, I go into Develop preset and make the modification. I assume that the change should be applied only to the picture being displayed in develop module, but in fact it is applied to both (or all) selected pictures.
I can see that this kind of batch update is very useful for some scenarios, but it does not work in the scenario described. In my scenario both the picture being edited and the reference pictures get modified. I have only had this problem recently. I don't know if there is some setting in Lightroom which was changed (can't find any relevant setting), Lightroom behavior changed with 4.0, or there is another direct way of doing what I want to do.