Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can't open Lightroom  (Read 1183 times)

NigelC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 542
Can't open Lightroom
« on: January 14, 2013, 06:35:57 AM »

When I try to open LR4, or LR3, I get a message "msvrc100.dll is missing - try re-installing the programme" I have done that - it doesn't work. I've also downloaded the repair .net framework from microsoft and other prompted downloads, rebooted, re-installed LR4 again (when it went through a repair missing files/elements cycle) and still comes up with same prompt. Seems like something has corrupted my system

Any ideas?

PS - was working OK a few days ago
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3727
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2013, 06:42:09 AM »

Tried doing a System Restore back to the last date you were OK?

Simon Garrett

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 688
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2013, 07:08:10 AM »

Sorry I can't give a specific answer, but I've read of this error before, so try searching (or asking on) http://forums.adobe.com/community/lightroom or try Google: I got 6520 hits when I searched "Lightroom error msvrc100.dll is missing". 
Logged

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2013, 08:28:19 AM »

That's simply a core file shared by many apps, in LR's case the SQL engine.  You might simply have a hard drive that's corrupted, do a full scan.

joshepperson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2013, 09:19:23 AM »

Yes it is a shared Windows file, I would run a Registry Cleaner/Checker to optimize and replace any missing files. If you still cannot get the program to launch you may have a deeper seated problem. Does this happen with any other applications or just Lightroom?

NigelC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 542
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2013, 03:17:10 PM »

Yes it is a shared Windows file, I would run a Registry Cleaner/Checker to optimize and replace any missing files. If you still cannot get the program to launch you may have a deeper seated problem. Does this happen with any other applications or just Lightroom?

Just Lightroom it seems
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3727
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2013, 04:57:11 PM »

Just Lightroom it seems
Have you tried a System Restore back to the day you were last OK?

Bryan Conner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
    • My Flickr page
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2013, 02:41:38 AM »

I had this same problem a week or so ago.    http://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/kb/error-unable-start-correctly-0xc00007b.html  may solve your problem.  Solution 1 solved my problem.
Logged

NigelC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 542
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2013, 04:50:02 AM »

Josh - yes tried that no joy

John - about to try that when I've made sure all picture files backed up tp DVD - however, I haven't been very diligent about creating restore points so not that hopeful
Logged

NigelC

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 542
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2013, 04:56:31 AM »

Bryan - tried Solution 1 - doesn't work for me
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3727
    • http://www.beardsworth.co.uk
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2013, 07:19:53 AM »

Aren't restore points created automatically?

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Can't open Lightroom
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2013, 07:36:26 AM »

System restore has nothing to do with it, it's only about drivers.

You need to scan for a bad HDD.
Pages: [1]   Go Up