Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Camera and Lens Recommendations For Landscapes and Copy Work  (Read 3346 times)

Nick S.

Camera and Lens Recommendations For Landscapes and Copy Work
« on: December 27, 2012, 11:18:42 pm »

Greetings,

This is my first post. I'm in the market for a new digital camera and lens(s) and would appreciate advise from other forum members. I'm an artist and I'm looking for a camera that excels at two very specific tasks. The first task is documenting the landscapes I paint while in the field. Using my oil sketches and photographs as reference, I create larger, more detailed canvases back in the studio. The second task is photographing finished works of art for publication and use on the web. My reference photos will never be seen; they'll simply be used as an aid in the production of my art. I'd like the landscape photos I take to match my own vision as closely as possible. The copy photos I take should faithfully match the colors of my paintings.

This is what I'm looking for in a camera:
- Crisp detail
- The widest possible range of values from the brightest highlights to the deepest shadows
- Images that closely approximate what the human eye sees in both color and perspective
- As little distortion as possible
- A user-friendly design
- A reasonably compact size
- Camera and lens combo for under $2000

I've been reading about the new Fuji X-E1 and either a Fuji XF 35mm f/1.4 lens or a Fuji XF 18-55mm f/2.8-4 lens. I'd welcome any opinions you may have.

Thanks,
Nick

HarperPhotos

• http://www.harperphoto.com
Re: Camera and Lens Recommendations For Landscapes and Copy Work
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2012, 11:59:04 pm »

Hello,

My recommendation for your budget of $2,000 would be a second-hand D700 and the Nikon 60mm G macro lens.

If you have a bigger budget I would go for the Nikon D800E which is what I use for my art reproduction work.