Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 15   Go Down

Author Topic: Connecticut Tragedy  (Read 55513 times)

marvpelkey

Connecticut Tragedy
« on: December 14, 2012, 06:32:37 pm »

As a retired cop, I have been associated in various ways to a number of tragedies and, like a lot of cops, have learned to build a pretty thick skin. This one, however, when I heard the news, literally took my breath away.

I'm not religious but, if there is a heaven, may all the victims rest in peace there. And may the shooter receive no such consideration.

Marv

stamper

Re: Connecticut Tragedy
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2012, 04:02:23 am »

Despite this being the Coffee Corner I hope this subject is closed before it goes any further. I don't think a discussion on the forum is appropriate, especially as all of the facts aren't known.  :(

Rob C

« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2012, 04:17:29 am »

Despite this being the Coffee Corner I hope this subject is closed before it goes any further. I don't think a discussion on the forum is appropriate, especially as all of the facts aren't known.  :(

What more's to know?

But yes, you're right: it's one of those endless topics that only breeds anger and creates splits. It's all far too late for the States; we have very strict gun laws in the UK but no thug finds himself challenged in discovering where to acquire a gun. Removing millions of legally-held guns doesn't affect the millions of illegal ones by one iota. And mad people are mad, regardless of the laws. And very mad ones are also very clever in their own ways.

It's now an unavoidable part of the dangers of living.

Rob C

Tony Jay

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2012, 04:41:42 am »

I think any sane person can sympathize with the families of the slain and feel some of the horror of the event.
As for how to stop things like this happening well there probably isn't an easy solution since the factors that lead to these murder/suicides are complex and appear ingrained in society in some parts of the world.