Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: dealing with print damaged at framers  (Read 6066 times)

nairb

dealing with print damaged at framers
« on: November 02, 2012, 11:41:09 pm »

I've been selling unframed prints for about two years now, and I'm wondering how others deal with a situation where a print gets damaged at a framers and needs to be replaced.

This has happened to me several times now. Twice in the last week. This time, the person who bought the print saw the damage after the framing was done and demanded the printer replace it. He assumed I'd be selling the framer a new one at full price which is $600.

All the other times, the framer contacted me before framing it and before the customer knew of the damage. Most times I assume the customer never learned of the print being replaced.

This time, in both cases I charged 50% for the replacement. Is this too much? Too little? The first time it happened, I bartered for some framing for another piece at the equivalent of the full price, and sent more customers to that framer in the following year.

Now this time, they paid the 50% but when the replacement arrived, demanded a refund as they felt I should charge no more than it cost to print.

Thoughts?

Bryan Conner

• My Flickr page
Re: dealing with print damaged at framers
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2012, 01:10:34 am »

If you damaged the frame while hanging it in the customers home, how much would you have to pay for a replacement frame at the same shop?

nairb

« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2012, 01:27:05 am »

That would probably depend on the frame shop.

The reason I asked this is question is because I've not been in the situation from the other side and I don't know many other business people. The framers are probably always going to want to pay little or nothing.