Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Wacom Intuos5  (Read 1848 times)

ymc226

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
Wacom Intuos5
« on: October 13, 2012, 06:23:55 PM »

Can anyone tell me how many USB ports the Intuos5 has.  Using a MacBook Pro that has only 2 USB ports (one for Imageprint9 dongle, the 2nd for my Epson 3880 printer), I need to know if I need to get a USB port duplicator.

Also for photo editing, would the medium or large size work best?
« Last Edit: October 13, 2012, 06:28:29 PM by ymc226 »
Logged

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1935
Re: Wacom Intuos5
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 08:53:33 PM »

I've used large and small Wacoms for years.  I see no advantage to the larger sizes.

I have no idea about the USB ports, sorry.
Logged

hugowolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 991
Re: Wacom Intuos5
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2012, 10:07:31 PM »

Use the Ethernet connection for the 3880, it will be faster and save your USB ports for something less significant.

Brian A
Logged

howardm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1620
Re: Wacom Intuos5
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2012, 10:48:05 PM »

get yourself one of the small USB hubs for a couple of dollars or run the 3880 via ethernet (static address).

Historically, the Intuos's dont have a spare port to make up for the one it consumes.

MikeB55

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
Re: Wacom Intuos5
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2012, 05:04:40 AM »

I use an iMac and have a medium Intuos 5 with a wireless accessory kit. When connecting I use a USB hub for the wireless dongle or the USB cable and both these connection methods work without problems. To confirm, my Intuos 5 does not have a spare port.

Medium is the best size for me for use exclusively in PS and LR. The medium size has a relatively large surface and takes up a reasonable amount of desk space. I would find the large size just too unwieldy but YMMV.

Mike
« Last Edit: October 14, 2012, 05:16:18 AM by MikeB55 »
Logged

ymc226

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
Re: Wacom Intuos5
« Reply #5 on: October 14, 2012, 10:54:07 AM »

Thanks for all of your suggestions and insights.  I had my 3880 connected to ethernet via a powerline to the home network but somehow lost connection; thus I use a direct USB as I only use this printer for photos.

I went with a powered USB hub and got the medium sized Intuos 5 with the wireless adapter.
Logged

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2107
    • http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: Wacom Intuos5
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2012, 10:15:57 PM »

The Intuous5 can be used via bluetooth. The Bluetooth kit is an option.
Otherwise it has a single mini USB port for connecting to the computer
Logged
Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.
Pages: [1]   Go Up