Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: D4 vs. 800E  (Read 6003 times)

allegretto

D4 vs. 800E
« on: September 03, 2012, 08:49:50 am »

Thought I'd consult with the experts here.

I'm no pro, but very serious about my subjects and photography. Was a Leica guy for many years with a Canon love affair in there too with a 1DsII but had to bail on Canon color, just never seemed "right" to me. But Leica gear is tricky and always costs a fortune. In these days of new sensors and lenses I think the Leica "advantage" is slimmer than ever and I don't like flash very much (OK, not at all) and Leica hi-ISO performance is laughably poor.

Tried a couple of brands (will name them after they are gone on eBay) but was totally underwhelmed despite many positive reviews. Guess I have a certain expectation.  Went to dpreview and reviewed test shots and felt that their color was more to my liking than Canon (don't mean to start any arguments, just stating a preference). So decided that Nikon and their extremely versatile system is the way to go. Also on dpreview I viewed hi-ISO performance and while the D4 may be abut two stops better ISO, unless I went 1:1 or greater, the D4 pics just seemed more pleasing. Perhaps there is a physical reason for that and someone can enlighten me.

So, I popped for a D4 (hi-ISO here we come) and will be adding 24-70 2.8 and a couple more chunks of glass soon. Don't feel sorry for me, my lightweights are an XPro-1 (great camera for many things, but slow in the dark) and an RX100 (WOW!).

So the questions are;

- if any of you have both 800E and D4, do you think one is "better" than the other?
- if you just have an 800E, do you lust for a D4?
- if you just have a D4, do you lust for an 800E?

FWIW, I intend on this camera to be my party, moving target and event camera. Occasional field trips too, but the others are for grab-shots and whip-outs.

Thanks in advance...

Petrus

Re: D4 vs. 800E
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2012, 05:03:31 pm »