Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Which would you buy: Credo 60 or Aptus II 12 R?  (Read 6212 times)

rogerxnz

• Hayman Lawyers
Which would you buy: Credo 60 or Aptus II 12 R?
« on: August 31, 2012, 06:33:46 pm »

I have an Aptus 75 (33MP) back and a Hasselblad V system including a Flexbody, which I use a lot. I can sell/trade my A75 back for either a new Credo 60 (60MP) or a slightly used Aptus II 12 R (80MP in a sensor rotating mount). The Aptus II 12 R option is about USD3,500 cheaper.

I shoot mainly landscapes in the bush in New Zealand. I am an amateur (but also a lawyer!). My biggest problem with my present setup is getting the focus right and, sometimes, when I use the tilt function on the Flexbody, it can take several attempts before I am satisfied.

I have had a go with the in-back LiveView feature of the Credo but never seen an Aptus II which I know does not have the same feature (but does if tethered, which I wish to avoid). In daylight, outdoors, LiveView on the Credo gives useable results if you put a ND filter over the lens and use a LCDVF loupe. I hope that LiveView on the Credo would allow me to avoid taking off the back to put on the viewfinder to refocus and then putting the back on again to take the shot. I know it will still be quite a pain to crouch down and look up at the LCD screen if the back is tilted backwards (as it usually is) on the Flexbody on a tripod. If I have to tether the back to a laptop, the Credo would be better as its LiveView is better and in color.

So which would you choose? The higher resolution back the A II 12 R is cheaper significantly, even if I had to buy a MacBook Air as well, and it has the rotating sensor. The Credo has a brighter LCD screen and LiveView in the back.

Help, please!
Roger
Roger Hayman
Wellington, New Zealand

Doug Peterson

• http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: Which would you buy: Credo 60 or Aptus II 12 R?
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2012, 06:50:51 pm »