LOL! When I first configured LR2 several years ago, I wasn't paying good attention to how I did things and I had files all over the place. Of course I was paranoid to delete anything for fear that I would lose something in the process. A couple of months ago when I upgraded to LR 4, I bit the bullet and managed to get everything relocated into a sensible file structure (Win7) and it wasn't as hard as I thought. I backed up all the old catalogs and other stuff to an external drive before deleting things and restarting LR to make sure that everything works well. The only fault that I can find with LR is that the backup system within the software should be easier to manage. I'll have to check out the link that John provided.