Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6   Go Down

Author Topic: A true 6x7 CMOS low light sensor camera, can it exist?  (Read 71887 times)

rcdurston

• http://www.durstonphoto.com/
A true 6x7 CMOS low light sensor camera, can it exist?
« on: August 20, 2012, 04:29:57 am »

Alright, I'm just a photographer, I'm not a pixel peeper or techie so don't jump down my throat for my simple minded question.

If Canon/Nikon can make low light cameras and sensors (or be it Sony's), why can they (any manufacturer) not make a medium format version that is a full frame sensor?
This is what I'm thinking; a low light CMOS, 6x7 sensor that is around 20-40mp for under $20k, live view would be nice but it doesn't have to do video.
My logic is that if Canon/Nikon can build a body with all the extra goodies in it (mount, titanium body, extra electronics etc etc), for under $5k why can they not simply cut a larger sensor out of the original wafer and throw it in a digital back for $20k?
Why are we locked into this 36x48 format or even 40x54?

thanks
be gentle please
R

torger

Re: A true 6x7 CMOS low light sensor camera, can it exist?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2012, 07:25:19 am »

Costs increase exponentially with larger chip sizes. I'm no expert on chip making, but my understanding is that you would need more or less custom-made machinery to make that large chips which would cost many many millions of dollars before even coming as far as to make the first chip. It is hard to make large chips. CMOS are much more complicated to make than CCDs so it becomes even more expensive. Probably not impossible, but there is no business case. The product would simply be too expensive.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2012, 07:29:14 am by torger »

rcdurston

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2012, 07:30:47 am »

the other option is to stitch 4 regular colour matched CMOS sensors

hjulenissen

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2012, 08:01:38 am »