Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: selection of street photography.  (Read 1986 times)

designpartners

• Design Partners
selection of street photography.
« on: August 18, 2012, 04:23:57 pm »

Hi,

I thought it was about time I come out from behind the camera and get some feedback - I'm an amateur, joining a club in a few weeks and I'm putting together a portfolio to see if I can get some advice and bring my photography to the next level.

So, be honest, be brutal if necessary, but please be constructive.

I look forward to your replies!

James

Photo1 - Cannes Street Portrait

Photo2 - Perpignan Street Portrait

Photo3 - NYC Street Portrait

Photo4 - NYC Street Portrait

Photo5 - Malaysia Street Portrait

you can see a few more here if you are interested.
http://500px.com/JamesLynch/sets/street

Thanks for your time!

RSL

• http://www.russ-lewis.com
Re: selection of street photography.
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2012, 04:38:48 pm »

Hi James, No need to be brutal; There's some pretty good work in there.

#1. Not bad. The way the man's hunched up with a bag between his feet gives it a bit of ambiguity, which is one of the keys to good street photography. I'd have tried to get some texture in the blown part of his hair, but the composition is quite good.

#2. Lots of ambiguity here, but to me the color sort of kills it. It's really quite an interesting street shot, but I'd like to see what it's like in grayscale.

#3. Un uh. Just a guy on the street. Technically not a bad shot. Color again. There are times when color can help a street photograph, but those times are very rare. This isn't one of them.

#4. Un uh. No hoboes in doorways lighting up. It's a whale of a cliché.

#5. A fun picture, but the featureless street makes it too flat. It's good to expose to the right, but if you can't bring stuff like that back to the left in post-processing, it's time to toss it.
Russ Lewis  www.russ-lewis.com.

designpartners

• Design Partners