Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?  (Read 2704 times)

AFairley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1460

I mean like in PS CS6, where you hit F a couple times and there's nothing on the screen but the photo and any background resulting from photo being scaled down or aspect ratio.  I have not seen anything to indicate that this is possible in LR, yet one thinks it would be.

Thanks
Logged

francois

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7945
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 11:47:05 AM »

I mean like in PS CS6, where you hit F a couple times and there's nothing on the screen but the photo and any background resulting from photo being scaled down or aspect ratio.  I have not seen anything to indicate that this is possible in LR, yet one thinks it would be.

Thanks

How about hiding the toolbar, side panels, film strip, module chooser, filter bar and hitting "L" twice? It might not be identical to Photoshop but it's close.

Edit: typo correction
« Last Edit: August 16, 2012, 11:54:01 AM by francois »
Logged
Francois

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2078
    • http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2012, 11:51:30 AM »

On a Mac at least: Tab hides the side panels,  Shift+tab hides the top and side panels, and the F key works (two taps for full screen). Of course if your photo H:W ratio  doesn't match the display's H:W ratio the uncropped image will not fill the screen. You could then try clicking in the image and see if that works.
Logged
Ellis Vener
http://www.ellisvener.com
Creating photographs for advertising, corporate and industrial clients since 1984.

wolfnowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5821
    • M&M's Musings
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2012, 04:26:08 PM »

Yup. T to hide the toolbar, Shift-Tab will hide/reveal all panels, F twice for fullscreen and L twice for Lights out.  The image will now take up as much screen real estate as the aspect ratio allows.

Mike.
Logged
If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~

My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings

AFairley

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1460
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2012, 11:40:14 AM »

Ctrl-Shift F  Just a case of RTFM, it was right there in the view menu. Doh.
Logged

James R

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 349
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2012, 01:09:53 PM »

Ctrl-Shift F  Just a case of RTFM, it was right there in the view menu. Doh.

On a Mac it is Command + Shift + F to get full screen, not ctrl+shift+F; at least that is what works on my MacBook Pro.
Logged

wolfnowl

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5821
    • M&M's Musings
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2012, 02:32:05 AM »

Cmd/Ctrl-Shift-F will hide the sidebars and get you the equivalent of pressing the F key twice, but it won't hide the toolbar nor turn the 'lights' out.  A little faster than pressing Shift-tab and pressing F twice, I suppose.

Mike.
Logged
If your mind is attuned to beauty, you find beauty in everything.
~ Jean Cooke ~

My Flickr site / Random Thoughts and Other Meanderings at M&M's Musings

tomrock

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 243
    • http://tomrockwell.com
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2012, 10:48:11 AM »

Command + Shift + F is good. I didn't know about that. Thanks!
Logged

hjulenissen

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1999
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2012, 04:48:52 PM »

One would think that this function was common enough that it would have a menu option (like view->full screen), where the short cut could be suggested for future reference. At least, that is the behaviour I was expecting as a windows user.

It beats me why I am supposed to read the manual for such basic functions.

-h
Logged

James R

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 349
Re: Is there any way to get true full screen image display in LR4?
« Reply #9 on: August 19, 2012, 09:15:43 PM »

One would think that this function was common enough that it would have a menu option (like view->full screen), where the short cut could be suggested for future reference. At least, that is the behaviour I was expecting as a windows user.

It beats me why I am supposed to read the manual for such basic functions.

-h

Manual!  I didn't know there was a manual.  It would be nice if all the little built in functions would be listed somewhere.
Logged

neile

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1093
    • http://www.danecreekfolios.com
Logged
Neil Enns
Dane Creek Folio Covers. Limited edition Tuscan Sun and Citron covers are now in stock!
Pages: [1]   Go Up