Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Question about the P+ digital backs and long exposures  (Read 1693 times)

Isak Bergwall

Question about the P+ digital backs and long exposures
« on: August 11, 2012, 05:25:27 pm »

Hi!

I am a total newbie on medium format but looking to switch from my nikon system to a P25+ back (either M645 or H2) so I have some questions.. This might have been covered and if so I apologize.

What I would like to know is when the Darkframe on the P25+ (and P45+) back kicks in? I haven't seen so much information about this on the web.

Does it kick in after a 1 second exposure, 30 seconds? a minute? Or all the time? if you know what I mean.

And if it say kicks in after 1 minute, can you still take multiple exposures of say 50 seconds for stacking or is the back to "slow" to shoot back to back so to speak.

Appreciate your help very much!

Paul2660

• Photos of Arkansas
Re: Question about the P+ digital backs and long exposures
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 08:34:42 pm »

On the P45+ (and I believe this also true on the P25+), long exposure noise reduction kicks in a 1 second and any exposure longer than that.  This is also true on the newer Phase IQ backs also.

If you are stacking, it's not a very good solution IMO as you will have a dark frame interrupting your series after each normal exposure.  You  are
locked out of doing anything else until the dark frame completes which is not true on a modern DSLR, from Canon or Nikon.  Sure they will