Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: I am looking for creative display ideas.  (Read 3866 times)

JohnBrady

I am looking for creative display ideas.
« on: August 10, 2012, 06:42:30 pm »

I am looking for some creative ideas for displaying my landscape images.

Some background, I am a landscape photographer living in South Florida. I primarily work with a 8x10 and 5x8 wooden view camera and color film. I have my own gallery in Naples FL and show my work at about a dozen juried art shows during the winter months.

I try to control all aspects of my work, processing, scanning, printing, framing etc. I have a 52 inch Coda cold mount press that I use to adhere my images to gator board and then over mat. I currently produce framed pieces up to 4x6 feet. My favorite paper for printing my images on my Epson 9900 is Harmon gloss baryta.

I am trying to come up with a more distinctive way of finishing and presenting my images. I hate acrylic and glass because it detracts from the image. I am not a fan of canvas because I go to so much trouble to have massive amounts of detail in my images and I am afraid I will loose the high definition look that my work has. Also, many of the shows that I participate in do not allow photographers to display work on canvas.

I want my new work presented in a thick wood frame ( I currently use mat black aluminum and a white mat)

Is there any feasible option that any of you would recommend such as printing on a heavy weight paper and than coating with something that increases the d-max and protects the image? And What would you use for a backer board and how would you adhere it? Is canvas still the most logical solution?

I am looking to have framed pieces as large as 5x8 feet, I have access to a 11880 printer for this project and I have heard there are 5x8 sheets of gator board available.