Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Favorite Paper?  (Read 3952 times)

marcmccalmont

Favorite Paper?
« on: August 03, 2012, 12:54:52 am »

It's been almost 3 years since I've done a lot of printing so now it's time to get back to it,
I'm sure a lot has changed and was wondering what your favorite papers are? Color? B&W?
Thanks
Marc
Marc McCalmont

Inanda Images

Re: Favorite Paper?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 10:43:53 am »

For my 9880 which runs only the MK ink set I like Elegance Velvet as my cotton rag and Lyve canvas both Breathing Color products, I wrap both after laminating. My proofing paper is Epson Enhanced Matt. For my 7900 I still love the Ilford Galerie Gold or what ever it is currently packaged as, otherwise most clients request the Lustre OEM Epson papers. I also have had a lot of success with the Synthetic Adhesive Paper on the 7900.

Mark Prins
Inanda Images
Yukon Territory

adamideas

« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2012, 03:52:06 pm »

Im a noob just getting started and I have an epson 3800. I am really liking the Red River polar metallic.  I always seem to get good results with it.  Color is good but I have really enjoyed making b/w prints on the metallic.   I have had trouble with epson luster and RR luster, I just can't get them to come out right.  Like I said, I'm a noob.

Adam

texshooter

« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2012, 08:36:46 pm »

My printer is an Epson 3800 with K3 inks. I tested about 80 different papers and have reached a strong opinion about what my favorite papers are. Please keep in mind different printers and different ICC profiles will give you different results, so take my suggestions with that in mind. I also hate warm paper (looks aged from years of attic storage; besides I can tint myself), so my picks reflect this bias.

Favorites: