Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Nikon D3200 - An Apparent Paradox  (Read 21209 times)

Ray

Nikon D3200 - An Apparent Paradox
« on: July 27, 2012, 11:32:06 pm »

At 24mp the D3200 has Nikon's highest resolution DX sensor. Yet the camera is a low-cost entry level model without certain features that most experienced photographers expect, such as auto-exposure bracketing.

Now some people might think that such a high resolution sensor would be wasted on the complete novice. After all, resolution improvements resulting from a mere 50% increase in pixel count are subtle. They're usually only apparent either in a huge print or in an average-size print from a very small crop of the image.

So what's going on, I ask myself, trying to put myself in the position of someone who uses only a P&S or iPhone camera but is getting more interested in photography and would like to 'move up' to a DSLR?

Supposing my existing camera were a 5mp iPhone camera or a 12mp P&S, and I started to become interested in the better image quality that results from a larger sensor.  Would I not be more interested in a 24mp sensor than a 16mp sensor?

Supposing my existing P&S were one of the latest 16mp models, would I not prefer to upgrade to a 24mp DSLR than get a 16mp DSLR with no more pixels than my current P&S?

Supposing my current P&S had the advanced feature of Auto Exposure Bracketing, would I be put off by the fact that the D3200 does not have this feature? Maybe not. It's the P&S camera with its limited DR and poor SNR that really needs auto-exposure bracketing. Although the DR and SNR of the D3200 is not quite state-of-art, although pretty close, it's a very significant improvement over any P&S camera.