Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported  (Read 16558 times)

nazdravanul

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2012, 06:41:02 AM »

Funny, because in the official specifications for 6.4.3 the d800 is still not listed as supported for tethering :

http://www.phaseone.com/en/Image-Software/Capture-One/Specifications.aspx
Logged

MrSmith

  • Guest
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2012, 08:24:39 AM »

cut and pasted from the release notes
"Highlights, version 6.4.3
This is a service release providing additional camera support, additional OS support and bug fixes.
OS Support
Added support for Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion.
Camera Support
Preliminary file support for Canon 1D X.
Tethered support for Canon 1D X and 5D Mark III.
Tethered support for Nikon D4, D800 and D800E.
Bug Fixes
Fixed an issue with QuickLook support."

it works on MkIII as i tried it last yesterday, a friend tried his d800e and it works fine.
Logged

Jens_Langen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2012, 04:42:54 PM »

Since switching over to Capture One Pro 6.4.3 I'm having problems tethering my 5D MKII.  I can take 6 shots before the camera is disconnected or unrecognized by the software.
I need to restart Capture One Pro and remove the battery from my camera in order to reconnect.  Then I can only get a few shots before it disconnects again.
Funny thing is, I went back to version 6.4.2 by restoring from my Time Machine back-up and now the same thing happens with that version.  Sometimes I'll only get one shot tethered
before it disconnects.  I'm shooting to a 1 year old MacBook Pro running 10.7.4.  Any ideas?
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2012, 05:20:04 PM »

Are you using a standard length USB cable provided by Canon? Have you tried restoring the factory defaults on the camera? Have you "reset" Capture One by deleting the preference and application support files?

If so, have you started a support case with P1?

http://www.phaseone.com/en/SupportMain/ContactSupport.aspx

Often on new cameras tethered support has a bug here or there (true whether talking about EOS Utility, LR, C1, or "other"). Reporting these bugs through a support case means you get a specific reply back if it's something they already know about before you or you may be the first to find a specific-combination-bug in which case your report will help to squash it faster.

Jens_Langen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2012, 10:45:32 PM »

Thanks Doug,
I did start a support case with Phase One, and they've been very prompt and helpful, but I was hoping someone might have had the same issue and solved it before I go to the "next level" with Phase One.
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2012, 11:55:57 AM »

Thanks Doug,
I did start a support case with Phase One, and they've been very prompt and helpful, but I was hoping someone might have had the same issue and solved it before I go to the "next level" with Phase One.

Did you get your situation figured out?

Jens_Langen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2012, 12:32:53 PM »

Yes I did.  Phase One suggested that a clean uninstall might fix the problem, so I tried it and can now tether the 5d MKII and III.  They provided a link to the instructions:  http://www.phaseone.com/Search/Article.aspx?articleid=1164&languageid=1
There is an extra step when running Lion.  All is good!
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2012, 11:33:52 AM »

Yes I did.  Phase One suggested that a clean uninstall might fix the problem, so I tried it and can now tether the 5d MKII and III.  They provided a link to the instructions:  http://www.phaseone.com/Search/Article.aspx?articleid=1164&languageid=1
There is an extra step when running Lion.  All is good!

Great to hear.

MrSmith

  • Guest
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2012, 06:39:12 PM »

Only tethering is now broken in mountain lion.
I'm in a bit of a pickle as I had to get a new laptop after water damage to the logic board, I stupidly upgraded my new 13inMBP to mountain lion (it shipped with Lion installed) before checking.
I have the old HD could I just fit that? Previous MBP was a 2.4 early 2011 machine.
Or any idea how long phase will be with a fix?
Logged

Jens_Langen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2012, 11:01:38 AM »

Now I'm having the same problems tethering the 5D MKIII.  It might have something to do with using a 10' USB extension cable, since removing that cable and using the 3' cable seems to solve the issue.  But I always shoot tethered, so a 3' cable is too short.  I'm using a powered USB hub as well.  I'm not even sure this is a Capture One issue since connecting to Lightroom is also difficult.
I also don't like how the camera can't reconnect to the computer after the camera is turned off and then turned on again.  You need to remove and replace the camera battery and relaunch Capture One for them to see each other again. I seem to recall that removing the Canon software from the computer may help, I'll give that a try.
Is there a brand of USB extension cable that works better than others?  Any other suggestions?
Logged

Jens_Langen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2012, 11:53:19 AM »

Thanks Doug!
Logged

Keith Reeder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 256
    • Capture The Moment
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2012, 03:43:01 PM »

  I'm not even sure this is a Capture One issue since connecting to Lightroom is also difficult.

That'll be because 5D Mk III tethering isn't yet supported by Lr.
Logged
Keith Reeder
Blyth, NE England

Jens_Langen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 47
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #15 on: August 22, 2012, 04:01:26 PM »

That does explain things...
Logged

Keith Reeder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 256
    • Capture The Moment
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #16 on: August 22, 2012, 04:19:15 PM »

I think so!

;)

Shouldn't be long now though - I expect that it and the D800 will be supported in the next "point release" (4.2) which should be out within a few weeks.
Logged
Keith Reeder
Blyth, NE England

MrSmith

  • Guest
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2012, 07:21:26 AM »

I'm currently using eos utility with a destination folder in C1 which is working well with only the odd connection error from c1 if eos utility is not running but once eosU has control of the camera it's stable.
There is one downside though and that's the viewer image doesn't automatically update to the next shot. There is however an upside to this method and that's having the Raws being duplicated on the card in camera, this means you don't have to be so quick to backup (having had laptop HDs fail in the past)
I'm wondering if this feature is going to possibly be in a future update?
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3431
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #18 on: September 10, 2012, 09:03:44 AM »

Make sure [camera > hot folder] is enabled and [camera > auto select new capture] is set and it will auto update.

Also, under capture one preferences you can disable canon tethering so that it won't give a connection error when EOS utility was running.

MrSmith

  • Guest
Re: 5D III and D800 tethering now supported
« Reply #19 on: September 10, 2012, 12:37:26 PM »

ah-ha ;D i'll make those changes before tomorrows shoot.
thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up