Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 9600 Profile question  (Read 3793 times)

Stefan Wood

Epson 9600 Profile question
« on: July 15, 2012, 09:06:44 pm »

Hi, this is my first post on this forum.  Before I ask a question, let me introduce myself.  I am a painter turned photographer within the past year; I work at the National Gallery of Art in exhibition design, and on a daily basis work with three large EPSON printers - a 7800, 9800, and a 9890.  Last month I bought an old EPSON 9600 from Craigslist; I had it serviced and bought a set of Cone Color inks for it, and so far, everything has been running smoothly. 

Except when it comes to profiling.  I am running a Mac Mini with OS 10.7.4; have Lightroom 4.1, and my monitor is calibrated using xRite i1profiler.  The 9600 did not come with the original software, so I downloaded the driver from the EPSON site.  When soft proofing an image in Lightroom, I am not able to bring up the EPSON Enhanced Matte (that is the paper I am using) icc profile.  It is not in my Library folder, nor anywhere else.  I tried to download Bill Atkinson's profiles, but the .sea files no longer are read by Stuffit Expander.  I am currently playing with the Cone Color profile for Enhanced Matte, but the color space looks really faint.  I am working on a night scene, and the blacks become way less contrasty when I use the Cone profile.  I am playing around with settings, but I am basically scratching my head right now.  Also, I was wondering why the standard EPSON 9600 paper profiles are not able to be found anywhere in a non .sea format.  I was wondering if someone can send me an unexpanded profile?  Also, are the Cone Color profiles so way off? The .pdf file from Cone about using icc files talks only about Photoshop, not Lightroom. In general I am good about management, but I am needing a little guidance.

Alan Goldhammer

• A Goldhammer Photography
Re: Epson 9600 Profile question
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 12:51:25 pm »