Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Best RIP for the Canon IPF9100  (Read 4140 times)

Robert Good

Best RIP for the Canon IPF9100
« on: June 17, 2012, 10:42:54 am »

Complete novice here regarding RIP Software. ???
Are there any suggestions on a RIP package for the IPF9100 and Windows 7 64.
Canon has a list of preferred providers but I am totally lost on what I need.

I use illustrator heavily for printing / print layout. Vector and Raster
Mostly signage and canvas prints.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

« Last Edit: June 20, 2012, 10:10:50 am by Robert Good »

Robert Good

Re: Best RIP for the Canon IPF9100
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2012, 09:59:19 am »

I may be asking this question in the wrong forum.  ???

Malcolm Payne

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2012, 10:39:01 am »

Hi Robert,

If it's any help, I use ColorGATE ProductionServer7 (www.colorgate.com) on my iPF8300 and have been generally happy with the software since v4, though it continues to improve with every version. I print almost exclusively fine art reproductions and canvasses, with occasional posters, photos and other miscellaneous stuff. You should be able to download a demo version from their website, I think.

I hadn't replied previously as I'm sure there are other members here with far more in-depth knowledge of alternative RIPs, but please PM me if you would like to discuss in more detail.

Regards,

Malcolm

aaronchan

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2012, 10:55:31 am »

I personlly ergo soft poster print, it is super easy to setup for the printing env. Color gate is good too but the price might be a bit higher than ergo soft.

Aaron

Robert Good

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2012, 03:30:38 pm »

Thank you for the replies. I just spoke with Ergo Soft in regards to their offerings
I am basically looking at $7,150 for their Poster Print software package <ikes!!!>
But in about three months I can get the same product for $3,600 per upcoming price cuts <still ikes!!>