That sounds fairly drastic. Can you restore the last catalogue back-up? Unless you've changed the settings, there should be one within the last week. Save the current catalogue, restore the last backup, and then import from the saved catalogue images you've imported since the last backup. That would mean you've lost the settings of only those photos you've imported or edited since the last catalogue backup.