Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available  (Read 4164 times)

Josh-H

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2023
    • Worldwide Photography Expeditions
Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« on: May 29, 2012, 11:58:50 PM »

Just open LR to be prompted.

phila

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 292
    • www.philaphoto.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 07:15:34 AM »

Certainly the responsiveness of the Develop sliders in very much improved!  :D

aragdog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 11:09:00 AM »

I think much improved also.  A little faster also, with my 800E files.

Logged

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2433
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2012, 03:41:27 PM »

From a quick first play, a serious improvement over LR4.

Now how much better would the upgrade experience have been if we'd all waited until now for it and got this as LR 4.0 ?
There'd have been far, far less complaints about Adobe and why did they bother to drop the upgrade price ? What we've got now is well worth the previous (1>2 & 2>3) u/g costs so Adobe could have made more money.
Logged

Rand47

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 883
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #4 on: May 30, 2012, 10:08:49 PM »

I'm seeing improvement as well.  On one particular image from a client, that was completely blacking out the monitor and doing a redraw in about 20 seconds, is now only showing (not responding) for a short time!  LOL
This is a pretty extreme case, however with multiple paintbrush masks, multiple gradients,  loads of "healed" sensor dirt, curves adjustments, fringe corrections, color bending, and some pretty serious noise reduction, sharpening, etc.   It has to be the poster child for a difficult, heavily messed with image file.

On most of my own a900 RAW files (imported fresh for testing) it seems usable, if not quick, which I'll take!  Slider responsiveness still lags a tiny bit, but at least gives me a sense of "where I am" in the adjustment rather than a "surprise!" when it catches up.

Good on you, Adobe!  I know this couldn't have been much fun on the release of such wonderful and powerful changes, to have to deal with this issue. 
Logged
Rand Scott Adams

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2012, 11:29:30 AM »

Just bear in mind that 4.1 is the breaking point for PS CS5/ACR 6.7

If you go to 4.1 you now need CS6/ACR 7.1 for compatibility with the new features.

Bryan Conner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
    • My Flickr page
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2012, 01:17:25 PM »

Just bear in mind that 4.1 is the breaking point for PS CS5/ACR 6.7

If you go to 4.1 you now need CS6/ACR 7.1 for compatibility with the new features.

If I have LR 4.1, why do I need ACR 7.1?
Logged

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2012, 01:19:43 PM »

If you use Edit In Photoshop, changes made in LR carry through ACR.  If they are not matched, the changes you made do not exist.  For example if you use the new CA tools in LR 4.1 and are not updated to CS6/ACR 7.1, the CA effects do not exist when the file open in PS. 

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2433
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2012, 01:29:17 PM »

If you use Edit In Photoshop, changes made in LR carry through ACR.  If they are not matched, the changes you made do not exist.  For example if you use the new CA tools in LR 4.1 and are not updated to CS6/ACR 7.1, the CA effects do not exist when the file open in PS. 
Only really a problem if you need to open it as a smart object in PS though.
Otherwise you can just export 4.1 rendered files in PSD or TIFF format to any version of PS for further work.
Logged

Keith Reeder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 256
    • Capture The Moment
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2012, 01:29:39 PM »

If I have LR 4.1, why do I need ACR 7.1?

Quote
...for [Photoshop] compatibility with the new features [of Lightroom 4.1].
Logged
Keith Reeder
Blyth, NE England

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2012, 01:30:16 PM »

That's a very suboptimal workflow, but yes.

Bryan Conner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
    • My Flickr page
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2012, 02:10:08 PM »

That's a very suboptimal workflow, but yes.

How is this a suboptimal workflow?  Please explain.
Logged

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2012, 02:12:05 PM »

The short answer is, it's more steps and less integration.

Rhossydd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2433
    • http://www.paulholman.com
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2012, 02:41:53 PM »

The short answer is, it's more steps and less integration.
No it's not.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2012, 02:48:28 PM »

Quote
No it's not.
Quote
The short answer is, it's more steps and less integration.

Kind of yes, kind of no. The nice thing about having Edit in Photoshop fully supported is that you can skip one step (export) but also, you can edit there and have the iteration land back in LR. It isn’t a really big deal. I doubt that alone is worth upgrading to CS6 if you don’t care about other new CS6 features. Adobe doesn’t force you to upgrade, you can export from LR as suggested. If you use Smart Objects, well that can be an issue (I personally don’t, I do all raw processing in LR and then land in Photoshop). Once you have the raw embedded into a SO, if you do alter it, the version in LR doesn’t get updated which is kind of an issue. And you’ve now got two big honking raw files with different edits.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Bryan Conner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
    • My Flickr page
Re: Lightroom 4.1 - Now Available
« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2012, 02:59:10 PM »

Kind of yes, kind of no. The nice thing about having Edit in Photoshop fully supported is that you can skip one step (export) but also, you can edit there and have the iteration land back in LR. It isn’t a really big deal. I doubt that alone is worth upgrading to CS6 if you don’t care about other new CS6 features. Adobe doesn’t force you to upgrade, you can export from LR as suggested. If you use Smart Objects, well that can be an issue (I personally don’t, I do all raw processing in LR and then land in Photoshop). Once you have the raw embedded into a SO, if you do alter it, the version in LR doesn’t get updated which is kind of an issue. And you’ve now got two big honking raw files with different edits.

I agree....optimal is a matter of opinion.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up