Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Scanning prints with VueScan pro 9.0.75 (Mac)  (Read 5596 times)

Dajm

Scanning prints with VueScan pro 9.0.75 (Mac)
« on: May 20, 2012, 03:08:13 am »

Hi all, new here and I'm hoping to get some answers before my head implodes.

I'm new to scanning (and also LR4 and PS CS6) and I'm trying to figure out settings that will be optimal and future proof (using LR and PS now but that can change). I have a very average/cheap scanner, a canon MP495 and I know this is not ideal but I'm not in a position to upgrade atm. Tons of old prints from my earlier travel that often are not great but it's what I got and I want to get the best result with the tools I've got.

My goal is to digitise for convenience, edit in LR and PS but also for back ups/archive. I will rarely make prints or enlargements but it could happen. I would prefer to keep the files below ~50mb (.tif) but I want some wriggle room for later edits without any degradation.

I have figured out many of the settings but some still confuses me (

INPUT
Bits per pixel: should I use 16, 24 or 48 bit RGB?
Scan resolution: I set it to 1200 (max). Appropriate?

CROP
Leave as default.

FILTER
Leave as default (nothing is ticked).

COLOR
White point (%): 0.1. I read somewhere that this would be a better than default (1.0). Opinions?
Scanner color space: Built in. I don't know how to make a profile and not sure if I need to...?
Printer color space: ProPhoto color space
Output color space: ProPhoto color space
       This is confusing to me. Not sure what the difference is between those two. I've read that ProPhoto is better than sRGB and Adobe RGB but not sure if it applies to me here...?

OUTPUT
TIFF size reduction: 2
TIFF file type: Again, 24 or 48?
TIFF compression: Auto