Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 7800 or 4900?  (Read 1731 times)

perreault

Epson 7800 or 4900?
« on: May 17, 2012, 11:06:40 am »

Hello! I need advice on a printer choice.

I am an amateur photographer, I now print my images on an Epson 2880 and I want to make bigger prints so I am looking for a 17 or 24 inches printer. My mind was set on a 4900 but I found a lightly used 7800 for a reasonable price. I print exclusively with photoblack ink. My preferred paper is Ilford Gold Fibre silk. I can make my own icc profiles. I have enough room for either printer. I know they are big.

Anyone have experience with these two printers? How does the print quality compare? Is it a problem to find ink cartridges, maintenance tank or cutter blade for the "old" 7800? If the 7800 fails, will it be difficult to have it serviced? To find parts?

Any advice to help me make the choice will be greatly appreciated.

Yves

tmphoto

Re: Epson 7800 or 4900?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2012, 08:16:17 pm »

Anyone have experience with these two printers? How does the print quality compare? Is it a problem to find ink cartridges, maintenance tank or cutter blade for the "old" 7800? If the 7800 fails, will it be difficult to have it serviced? To find parts?

I received a 4900 brochure with a color and a B&W prints on luster paper. I scanned the prints and reprinted with a 7800 on Epson PPG. Without any major edits the 7800 prints were very close to the 7900 prints on my first try and I probably could have tweaked the files and print again for a closer match. Actually, my brother preferred the 7800 prints.

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1003&message=41542746

Peter Le

• lewandoimages
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2012, 09:52:29 pm »

If you are not going to be printing constantly I would stay away from both of them......I mean almost daily. Even printing weekly will cause clogging problems with both of the printers you mention and you will use most of your ink cleaning.