Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Nikon D800E: first couple of observations  (Read 3754 times)

dwnelson

Nikon D800E: first couple of observations
« on: May 03, 2012, 10:53:06 pm »

Hey all,

My rental D800E came in this afternoon and I spent an hour or so playing with it. I'm coming from a D7000 (28K+ shutter actuations) and I've never owned an FX DSLR, but I have limited experience with a D700 and a D3s.

1) I LOVE the bigger viewfinder going from DX to FX. It makes manually focusing my Zeiss primes a dream... this was previously not possible with the D7000.
2) It's definitely bigger than my D7000 but doesn't feel substantially heavier. It is heavier, but thankfully it's not a huge heavy brick.
3) I agree with previous comments about the weird handling with the camera, in particular from Lloyd Chambers and Kai from DigitalRev TV. I can't explain why, but it feels somehow less secure than my D7000. I keep wanting to dig my pinky in deeper for more of a grasp, and I want a more molded palm area. I also hate how the mode button is so far away from my right index finger... it's definitely a stretch. Changing ISO and WB from the top of the left knob is also a little awkward, but it's probably something I'll adjust to. FYI, I'm a 5'11" all American kind of guy with average size hands for a guy of my height.
4) A huge disappointment is the interpolated quality of the Live View for critical focusing. The D7000 is actually superior because at the highest Live View magnification, there is no apparent interpolation. I felt like I couldn't get a really confident focus with my Zeiss 100/2. This is a lens that can deliver on the D800E and even a tiny focus error can affect the resolution quite a bit. Bummer. [EDIT: Michael and Bernard point out below that this view is roughly a 300% view that actually makes critical focus easier, in spite of how horrible it may look. Mea culpa.]