Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 14-24 and lee filters  (Read 8026 times)

Rikard_L

14-24 and lee filters
« on: April 22, 2012, 06:03:26 pm »

Hi All,

Beginner landscape photographer from Sweden here. Hope to learn a lot from you guys and to be able to contribute to this forum as my experience grows.

I've ordered a Lee SW-150 ND Grad for the 14-24 nikon lens. Lee also makes a filter holder for this lens. But since the filter holder is both quite expensive and bulky, I was wondering what peoples experience is regarding handholding these filters. I understand that there will be reflections if the sun is behind you. But in that case, is it usually necessary to use a ND Grad in the first place?
As you probably understand, I'm a beginner when it comes to filters and their usage  :)

David Sutton

• David Sutton Photography
Re: 14-24 and lee filters
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 07:07:13 pm »

Hello Rikard. As no one has replied yet I'll throw in my 2c worth. I don't know many people who use ND grads anymore. The time it takes to set them up doesn't seem worth it compared to the time it takes to combine exposure-bracketed shots in the software of the user's choice. Plus it's something else to carry around and look after.  Most of the time we are not talking about a flat horizon and a sky that's outside of a digital camera's dynamic range, but a more complex subject that a ND grad won't handle as well anyway as combining exposures later on.
I use a polariser for helping reduce specular highlights and a circular variable ND filter for lengthening exposure times.
Cheers, David

langier

• Celebrating Rural America, the Balkans and beyond
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 08:58:24 pm »

I've got a set of grad filters just sitting in my cabinet since digital.

It's simply faster and easier to shoot a bracket and then combine in post and get a superior image without that look...
Larry Angier
ASMP, ACT, & many more! @sacred_icons
https://angier-fox.photoshelter.com

Rikard_L