Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?  (Read 2346 times)

walter.sk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1359
Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« on: April 10, 2012, 05:47:09 PM »

I've been using the LR4.1 release candidate, installed over my LR4, with no problems.  I downloaded the final version of LR 4.1.S11.exe and tried twice to install it.  Part way through the installation I get an error message saying that "This file is not marked for installation."

Should I have uninstalled the LR4.1 release candidate first?  Or do I have a corrupted download and should I download the file again?

Or is something else going on?  For the record I'm using Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate.
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5933
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 06:22:30 PM »

Where did you download LR 4.1?

AS far as I know, it has not been released...
Logged

walter.sk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1359
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2012, 07:48:53 PM »

Where did you download LR 4.1?
AS far as I know, it has not been released...
I received an email from Topaz Labs saying that their plugins would work with LR4.1 and that it was available on the Adobe website.  I went to the Adobe site and downloaded the trial version of LR4, which came as the file, LR4_1_S11.exe.  My previous version was named LR4_1_S11RC, so I figured this new one was the actual new version.  Am I wrong?
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5933
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2012, 12:59:34 AM »

Yeah as far as I can tell, LR 4.1 RC is the most recent actual external release of LR. So I think Topaz is jumping the gun a bit. Exactly what was the download URL you used?
Logged

citro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2012, 05:35:54 AM »

Can not confirm.
I went to Adobe, logged in and chose to Download a free trial of Photoshop Lightroom 4. I got Lightroom_4_LS11.exe - the full url is http://trials2.adobe.com/AdobeProducts/LTRM/4/win32/Lightroom_4_LS11.exe

No LR4_1_S11.exe
Logged

chrisj8891

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2012, 12:28:06 PM »

Interesting,  now shows access denied from the link...
Logged

walter.sk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1359
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2012, 12:44:17 PM »

Yeah as far as I can tell, LR 4.1 RC is the most recent actual external release of LR. So I think Topaz is jumping the gun a bit. Exactly what was the download URL you used?

Here's the link to the Adobe URL I used:

https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/tdrc/index.cfm?product=photoshop_lightroom&promoid&promoid=DTEML
Logged

Schewe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5933
    • http:www.schewephoto.com
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2012, 02:21:53 PM »

That link takes me to the trial for Mac and downloads Lightroom_4_LS11.dmg. Not 4.1.
Logged

walter.sk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1359
Re: Running LR4.1RC:How install new LR4.1?
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2012, 04:23:57 PM »

That link takes me to the trial for Mac and downloads Lightroom_4_LS11.dmg. Not 4.1.
Duh!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up