Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting into Printing Fine Art for others  (Read 2455 times)

RandomJoe

Getting into Printing Fine Art for others
« on: April 09, 2012, 10:03:14 pm »

I am seriously considering getting into Printing Fine art photography from my home. for other photographers in my area and online.
I have a lot of experience in the wide format signage industry and I am a passionate amateur photographer.
also have a lot of experience with Xrite i1 Publish pro.

Services would include printing on fine art paper, Canvas , Matte Fine Art, Gloss etc

Prints larger then 11x17
I am thinking of initially partnering with a local framing business for finishing.

I am still doing my research and working on a business plan.

Ive noticed that several of the large labs in my area charge very high prices. much higher than I was expecting and I have worked out the ink and paper consumption and drafted an initial price list and it seems that even at 50% i would made decent margin.

I would appreciate any thoughts of experience you had regarding similar services and if you think there is a reasonable market for these services.

Scott Martin

• Onsight
Re: Getting into Printing Fine Art for others
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 10:46:31 pm »

Do you want to be a technician or an image maker?
Scott Martin
www.on-sight.com

RandomJoe

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 11:02:25 pm »

Both ideally but I think I personally can make a better income as a technician.

neile

• http://www.danecreekfolios.com
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2012, 12:26:28 am »

I'm sure tons of other people will chime in here, but... you need to go back and re-think your cost calculations, and ensure you are factoring everything invovled in running a business. Paper and ink are a tiny, tiny, fraction of the actual cost of producing high-quality fine art reproductions for people.