Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Landscape lens for Sony NEX 7  (Read 6328 times)

rcloud

Landscape lens for Sony NEX 7
« on: April 06, 2012, 02:03:21 pm »

Hi folks.  I'm a student who will be summering in New Mexico(Taos).   Naturally I would want to take great pictures of the surrounding countryside because I find it quite beautiful.  I don't have a lens wider than the sony 35 1.8.  What is the most appropriate focal distance for a landscape lens for an APS-C sensor.  I am quite new to landscape photography.  I do have a budget being a student however I do want something better than the 16m pancake. 

I am not afraid of manual focus lenses on the used market. 

Thanks in advance.
Robert

Brian Hirschfeld

• Brian Hirschfeld Photography
Re: Landscape lens for Sony NEX 7
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2012, 04:12:46 pm »

For compactness you could look at M lenses, Leica's will be high, but voigtlander makes some great lenses, which new are fairly inexpensive, and used probably even more so. Other then that you could look at Canon / Nikon / Olympus manual focus lenses with adapters. It's really a matter of what focal length you like. If you like, if you like something standard then you could get a 35mm or a 28mm and you'll be slightly wider then standard and then anything smaller then that will be wider, since with all of these lenses, which are built for full frame (either film or digital) then you will be using their sweet spots, and can certainly get the best out of them.
www.brianhirschfeldphotography.com / www.flickr.com/brianhirschfeldphotography
---------------------------------------------------------------
Leica / Nikon / Hasselblad / Mamiya ~ Proud IQ180 owner

rcloud

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2012, 04:57:05 pm »

Sir, can you be a little more verbose about focal lengths and their uses in landscape photography?

I would very much benefit from a little education.

Fips

• some unrelated photos on flickr
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2012, 05:25:31 pm »