Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CFV50 on RZ...best bang for the buck?  (Read 3115 times)

Martin Wouterlood

CFV50 on RZ...best bang for the buck?
« on: March 31, 2012, 06:40:20 am »

Hello,
I am an amateur medium formatter into landscapes close and far, contre-jour and some portrait, all mostly with a slow, tripod-oriented style. I've been looking at various ways to add on a digital back and settle on an optimal mfslr for some time now...I have Contax 645 as well as Hasselblad 503CW systems with a good 250 tele to use on both.
In order to fund a digital back one of these setups will have to go but it's hard to decide which one as I like them both a lot, each for their own merits.  :-\  :-\  :-\
Contax - easier to shoot handheld, TTL AE exposure, analogue layout, 120 AMP lens, focus confirmation (I don't use AF), but smaller dimmer viewfinder and geater vibration issue with focal plane shutter, short service future from manufacturer (deadline ?2015).
503 - bigger and brighter and waist level finder, mechanical simplicity, leaf shutter best for vibe control, still being made so longer service prospects, but rectangle sensor awkward for verticals (square crop partial solution), seperate meter not a big deal as I use it with a spottie for many years.
During the course of my "research" it came upon me that, aside from the integrated Pentax 645D, the best bang for the buck back is probably a CFV50 (new for 9900 euro), about on par with a used P45+. The best bftb system is probably the Mamiya RZ, which I also have used and like quite a lot. Selling the C and HV systems for a modest RZ setup, which is still in current production, would give me quite some extra loot.
Most of the posts I see here are from folks with a zillion times more knowledge and experience than I have, so I would like to know:
What do y'all think of the idea of putting these two together?