Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Seeking unbiased thoughts/opinions on Sony SLT/EVF design.  (Read 4367 times)

Sags

Seeking unbiased thoughts/opinions on Sony SLT/EVF design.
« on: March 24, 2012, 09:21:08 pm »

Hello,

I've been a long time reader of LL articles and forums.  Finally decided to post since I haven't seen this topic discussed here, and it has me concerned as of late.

My background is that I've been invested in the Minolta Maxxum/Sony Alpha system since 1991 (I think) when I bought a used Maxxum 9000 as my first SLR.  I've grown with the system since then and despite some uncertain months during the Minolta-Sony transition period have always been pleased with the products.  I do a lot of hobby shooting of wildlife and landscapes, but also have gotten into doing youth sports and engagement/portraiture paid part-time.

Currently in the system I have an A700, A900, 42 and 58 flashguns and a mix of Minolta, Sigma, Tamron and Sony glass.  Currently my gear satisfies all my needs, but I know that in the digital age this won't last forever.  I know there will come a time when these bodies will either break down, or will become outdated enough that I will want the new next-best-thing.

And that is what has me somewhat concerned, for the first time I'm on the fence about Sony's new offerings due to the SLT and electronic viewfinder design.  My leeriness about this new design combined with the release of the D800 has me tempted to sell out and switch to Nikon, however painful that may be financially.  Another factor I've noticed of late is that on the high end telephoto end of factory lenses (which I like/covet for wildlife and sport work), the current Sony offerings seem to cost significantly higher then Nikon.  For example I could buy a Nikon 600/f4 and a D800e for less then the cost of Sony's new 500/f4 alone.