Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: clipping indication in CS5  (Read 4724 times)

cunim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 133
clipping indication in CS5
« on: March 07, 2012, 08:49:33 AM »

Can anyone tell me how to turn on a simple clipped pixel warning in CS5?  It must be in there somewhere.
Logged

kevk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 83
    • Kevin Kucks Photography
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 04:51:05 PM »

Do you mean like holding down ALT while moving the sliders in a Levels adjustment layer?
Logged

cunim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 133
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 10:57:07 AM »

Thanks for the answer.  I was hoping for something a bit less interactive.  LR lets me just hover over a button so see anything at 0 or 255, or I can activate the upper and/or lower button to leave the clipping display on.  Very much like a camera viewfinder.  Even better would be something like a clipping option on the view menu.  It's a way to make a quick check when doing blends.
Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5544
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2012, 12:20:40 PM »

Thanks for the answer.  I was hoping for something a bit less interactive.  LR lets me just hover over a button so see anything at 0 or 255, or I can activate the upper and/or lower button to leave the clipping display on.  Very much like a camera viewfinder.  Even better would be something like a clipping option on the view menu.  It's a way to make a quick check when doing blends.

Hi,

As an alternative you can add a Threshold layer as the top layer, especially useful when doing multi-layer blends, and by sliding the cut-off point to the shadows or the highlights you can see where the clipping takes place. Granted, not very elegant, but it does the job and works with blends.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

cunim

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 133
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2012, 10:45:36 AM »

Thanks Bart.  Did not know this.
Logged

Odium

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2012, 03:55:09 AM »

Hi,

and another way :) :
I made a simple action out of this:

1: make an invert adjustment layer
2: in the blending options of this layer uncheck the R channel and drag the "Blend if Gray" this Layer the whites at 255 and blacks to 0 (I use 2 to have some buffer left)

At this way you have red in overexposures and turquoise in underexposure just like in Lightroom. :)
I simple love to trigger this solution via an action and itīs on top of my Layerstack most of the time.


Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5544
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2012, 05:50:33 AM »

Hi,

and another way :) :
I made a simple action out of this:

1: make an invert adjustment layer
2: in the blending options of this layer uncheck the R channel and drag the "Blend if Gray" this Layer the whites at 255 and blacks to 0 (I use 2 to have some buffer left)

At this way you have red in overexposures and turquoise in underexposure just like in Lightroom. :)
I simple love to trigger this solution via an action and itīs on top of my Layerstack most of the time.

Hi,

That's a very elegant solution. It also allows to dial in one's thresholds for clipping indication, depending on the requirements, very easily.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

bwana

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2014, 08:35:52 AM »

sorry to necro this thread by i found this post and need a little clarification

Hi,

and another way :) :
I made a simple action out of this:

1: make an invert adjustment layer
2: in the blending options of this layer uncheck the R channel and drag the "Blend if Gray" this Layer the whites at 255 and blacks to 0 (I use 2 to have some buffer left)



'blend if gray' has two sliders beneath it - this layer and underlying layer. the black triangle is to the left (already at 0) and the white triangle is to the right (already at 255) for each slider. does he mean to drag the black slider all the way to the right to ~253 and the white slider all the way to the left to ~2? That's the only way I can get the white and black clipping to show otherwise everything is tinted red and turquoise with the default settings (black at 0 white at 255)
Logged

BartvanderWolf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5544
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2014, 08:53:17 AM »

sorry to necro this thread by i found this post and need a little clarification

'blend if gray' has two sliders beneath it - this layer and underlying layer. the black triangle is to the left (already at 0) and the white triangle is to the right (already at 255) for each slider. does he mean to drag the black slider all the way to the right to ~253 and the white slider all the way to the left to ~2? That's the only way I can get the white and black clipping to show otherwise everything is tinted red and turquoise with the default settings (black at 0 white at 255)

Hi,

See attached.

Cheers,
Bart
Logged
== If you do what you did, you'll get what you got. ==

bwana

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
Re: clipping indication in CS5
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2014, 09:03:35 AM »

thank you that's what i thought.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up