Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Burning DVDs on Windows - Problem reading on Mac  (Read 4885 times)

Dinarius

Burning DVDs on Windows - Problem reading on Mac
« on: February 29, 2012, 11:21:54 am »

I'm using Vista x64 bit.

I've been burning tiff files to DVD for 6 years using Roxio software. Unlike the inbuilt Windows DVD burning software, the Roxio has the option to verify the files after burning, which I like.

I have never, ever had someone come back to me & say he couldn't edit the files after copying them to his HD. A client who uses Mac has just done this.

He says he can't use Image Processor to creat jpegs. He can't make any changes to the files in PS.

Oddly, if I give him a DVD of files burned using the Windows generic software, he has no problem with the files. Only with the Roxio software.

Finally, he has asked me to supply all future DVDs as Read & Write and not just Read. But, files burned to DVD are Read Only by default. Correct?

Given that this is a first in 6 years, any thoughts on where the problem lies?

Thanks.

D.

Steve Weldon

• Bangkok Images
Re: Burning DVDs on Windows - Problem reading on Mac
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2012, 11:40:37 am »

This is a common problem, especially with Roxio (and depends on the version of OSx).. It's been so long since I've used Roxio I can only speak in general terms.. but go into where it lets you choose the file system it writes..  look for an option that lets you choose an option that looks like "ISO 9660" and look for UDF ISO/IEC 13346..  UDF stands for universal disk format.. I think.  Like I said it's been a long time.  If you choose ISO 9660 and UDF ISO/IEC 13346 you'll be good to go.  Or any UDF version your machine had available.

Sorry I can't be more exact.. it's been years since I've seen someone with this issue.  Most default to UDF these days.. but Roxio has always been a strange beast.
----------------------------------------------
http://www.BangkokImages.com

Dinarius