Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: First MFDB  (Read 17307 times)

FredrickFjeldsbo

First MFDB
« on: February 28, 2012, 02:18:30 pm »

Hi.

I am considering buying a medium format digital camera. I primarly shoot landscape, so that's what the camera is going to be used for. I have been looking at the Leaf Aptus-II 6 Mamiya 645DF and the PhaseOne P30+ 645DF. I am not very knowledgable when it comes to wheter these camera bodies are good or bad. I will be living in the artic for nine months (Lofoten, Norway). I need something that can handle the cold weather. I am also in doubt to which lenses to get. I have been looking at both the Phase One and Mamiya lenses, but only one of them seems to have Tilt/Shift. I am enjoying the Canon 24mm TS-E MkII now, and it is a spectacular lens. Is there any medium format equiliant? As I sad, I'm pretty new to medium format.

Thanks in Advance

torger

Re: First MFDB
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 02:49:33 pm »

Seems to be in a similar situation as I am. I currently have my eyes on Linhof Techno with Schneider Digitar lenses, then you can have movements (tilt/shift) on all your focal lengths, have a true view camera workflow. But I would think a SLR type of camera is less of a risk and more portable. I haven't yet come to the "portability" and "hard weather" analysis, I think the Techno will work for my needs but it will be a compromise compared to weather-sealed 35mm digital.

Phase One does test their products in tough conditions http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytrsdSR_67Q but I would doubt that they see as much field tests like weather-sealed pro Canon and Nikon lenses and bodies do. It is also notable that the tests in that video did not include rain.

The Hasselblad system has a teleconverter type of tilt-shift adapter in their lens lineup by the way.

Most of the "hardcore" hiking type of landscape photographers I know about use 35mm digital. So if it is really tough conditions, I think that is the way to go.