Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Any ideas for a high-quality, pigment ink printer that's not wide-format?  (Read 3544 times)

jotyler

Hi - I'm a digital artist looking for a high-quality photo printer that uses pigment inks, and preferably one that has a manual feed option for thicker media. But the catch is, I don't want a wide-format printer (no room!). A printer that can handle standard 8.5x11 would work best for me. And archival quality is very important.

My budget is up to $600. Does anyone have any suggestions? Thank you so much! :)
« Last Edit: February 12, 2012, 10:45:28 am by jotyler »

MikeWhitten

Re: Any ideas for a high-quality, pigment ink printer that's not wide-format?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 10:59:43 am »

I don't know where your definition of wide format starts. I've just upgraded from a Canon 9500 Mk II to an Epson 4900. So the Canon isn't looking particularly large any longer.  ;)

I had the 9500 sitting on my desk next to my CPU & monitor. It nicely handles 5x7 up to 13x19, prints pigment. My upgrade had nothing to do with the quality of the output, only to handle roll paper and larger sizes. I was and am quite happy with the results produced by the 9500. It certainly fits easily under your starting budget with current rebates and may be even less expensive on Craigslist.

Per-print ink costs are higher than machines with larger cartridges but are bearable.

HTH,
Mike

jotyler

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2012, 11:25:22 am »

Thanks Mike. Both of those printers would definitely qualify as wide-format in my book!  ;) Outstanding printers to be sure, but I'm trying to find something smaller. Just for 8.5 x 11 or so. It seems that Epson used to make the perfect printer for me - the R800, but it's been discontinued long ago and has been replaced by the wide-format R1900.
Thanks for the suggestions, though -- and enjoy that snazzy new 4900!

MikeWhitten

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2012, 12:12:45 pm »