Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie to MF: phase one P45 -- better Mamiya 645 or Hassie V ?  (Read 3292 times)

dhdhdh

Newbie to MF: phase one P45 -- better Mamiya 645 or Hassie V ?
« on: February 10, 2012, 09:53:34 pm »

I'm a long time 35mm digi shooter moving into MF.  Primary use is Macro (need to fill the frame with an object the size of an orange.)

Looking at used Phaseone P45 backs, wondering to go with Hassie 501cm or a used Mamiya 645AFD.  Assuming Mamiya is easier to focus (used to have a film 'Blad, not so easy to nail focus on those) but wondering if Mamiya glass will be as good.  Does the 645AFD have autofocus?

Recommendations for systems?  Best lenses ...  Hasselblad 120mm macro... or Mamiya ...

Thanks, i welcome ALL comments.

dh

Lester

Re: Newbie to MF: phase one P45 -- better Mamiya 645 or Hassie V ?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2012, 10:47:50 pm »

When I was a working photographer, I used and still have most of the Hass lens. I shot a lot of my commercial work, using the Hass System. Then I got a P25, which is set up to a Mamiya 645 AFD. When the P45 came out, I upgrade to it. I was really surprise, most of the Mamiya lens are cheap at ebay and most of them are sharper then the Hass. As of now, I have most of the Mamiya lens and yes their newest 120 micro is very sharp. The AFD stand for Auto Focus Digital. I now own a Leaf Aptus II 12 and P65+, using the Mamiya AFD II system.
I am a old fart, over 60

theguywitha645d

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2012, 11:34:35 pm »

Novaflex has a bellows and shift/tilt bellows that use enlarger lenses where you can get Mamiya and Hasselblad mounts.

There is something about 120mm medium-format macro lenses--there does not seem to be a bad one. The 120mm Macro for the Pentax 645 line is one of their best lenses also.