Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 4900 - strange behaviour  (Read 4100 times)

finbred

Epson 4900 - strange behaviour
« on: February 09, 2012, 04:41:38 am »

Hello, this is my first post here.

Last October I got a very good deal for a new SP 4900. It was a huge step up from the old R2400, but 1500 euros (+ tax) with full 200 ml cartridges had me dump my thoughts of the smaller models. And I have big plans, I run a company I own with my brother, who is an artist and making a name for himself. So giglee printing is the main reason for the purchase. But I am an avid photographer, too.

I'm getting fantastic results – and haven't had any clogging issues even though the printer has been seen several weeks of nothing to do since initial prints. But there is something else and I thought I'd ask the good people here before contacting Epson.

I use a Mac Pro/Photoshop CS5 for images and printing. Regarding color management there are 3 possibilities: All printer, printer/Color sync or all Photoshop. If I use the first one, I get pretty good but not quite accurate colors (the system is calibrated but not with top notch equipment/software). The second one mutes colors drastically, I'm not sure why. The third and preferable one gives the best color accuracy but also a problem. When the printer manages color, it prints the job and pushes the paper out after the last drop has reached the paper. But with all work managed by Photoshop the printer works through the whole sheet giving it a very subtle cyan shading OUTSIDE the image printed. From margin to margin. Say I have a watercolor painting on white surface sized A4. Lots of completely white (no color) in it, around the painted subject. When I print it on an A3 sheet, the white stays white within the image area, but the printer sprays cyan on the remaining area. It's very subtle, I can only see it in good light and at an angle – and the drops with a magnifying eye peace of course.