Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Printing Borderless or with Margins?  (Read 1300 times)

thetoness

Printing Borderless or with Margins?
« on: January 25, 2012, 08:36:37 am »

I am relatively new to the world of printing but having purchased an Epson 3880 I am ready to  delve into it. I will be printing about 75% black and white photos.  Sizes will be mainly 17 x 22, 13 x 19 and some 8 1/2 x 11.  Should I print borderless? Should I print with margins? If so, what size should they be? What are the advantages/disadvantages to both methods?  Thanks for your help.

neile

• http://www.danecreekfolios.com
Re: Printing Borderless or with Margins?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2012, 09:34:43 am »

I always print with margins. I gives you somewhere to put your mucky fingers while handing the print and a place to sign it. If you're framing, it gives a place to t-hinge on the back without the tape entering the image area.

I try and do 1" around on larger images. Smaller stuff I don't sweat it so much.

Neil
Neil Enns
Dane Creek Folio Covers. Limited edition Tuscan Sun and Citron covers are now in stock!

Alan Goldhammer

• A Goldhammer Photography
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2012, 01:33:59 pm »

+1 to what Neil stated.  I use 1 inch margins on paper sizes 13x19 and 17x25 with 1/2 inch margins on letter size paper (long side becomes 10 inches that the short side varies depending on the cropping of the image.  You also want a place to sign your print which you cannot do if you go borderless. :D

Schewe

• http:www.schewephoto.com
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2012, 01:53:48 pm »

Also note that borderless printing is only available on certain page sizes...(can't remember which at the moment). I also suggest a minimum usable margin for print handling and for long term conservation and preservation. I would only ever do borderless for small hand held "snapshots" like 4"x6".

AFairley

« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2012, 02:06:07 pm »