Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Considering HP Designjet Z3200 Purchase  (Read 24235 times)

Mike Raub

Considering HP Designjet Z3200 Purchase
« on: January 21, 2012, 03:12:16 pm »

My preliminary calculations suggest a large tax refund this year and I'm considering replacing my trusty DesignJet 130 with a HP Designjet Z3200 (24" model) to give more paper options. Reading reviews here and elsewhere indicate from a quality standpoint HP, Epson or Canon would serve my needs. I'm leaning toward the HP because of its inexpensive to replace printheads. Since I'm a just an amateur photographer sometimes a month or more passes between printing sessions and I'd hate to face the costs of replacing the much more expensive Canon or Epson printheads.

As far as cost goes, it looks like I can get the Z3200 for about $3K, perhaps a few hundred less than a comparable Epson or Canon. The HP's operating expenses seem to be perhaps slightly less than the competition, though that's not a deal breaker.

Most of my prints are 20" X 30" from Canon 5DII raw files.

Many here are much more familair with wide format ink jets than I am and I'd appreciate any comments or critisims of my proposed purchase. Also recommendations of good on-line dealers would be helpful. It's easy to find sellers and prices with search engines, but they don't always give you enough data to select an appropriate seller.

Thanks,

MIKE

Rocco Penny

Re: Considering HP Designjet Z3200 Purchase
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2012, 05:22:55 pm »

I only read what I am repeating here
May or may not be true according to who you read
HP is shedding its hardware production,
so maybe not specialized niche production,
but as a hardware producer HP is a dead end for now.
Canon & Epson seem the assured next generation printer manufacturers.
The 8300 doesn't seem to have as many clog complaints on this forum at least.
I suspect there are many more epsons, and the ink costs of the cleaning is what drives those complaints.