Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: for our forum engineers  (Read 5615 times)

fredjeang

for our forum engineers
« on: January 20, 2012, 11:57:47 am »

Let's see what our forum engineers have to say on that.

First, I'd like to say that what follows is NOT scientific right? I'm not a scientist. But it has something to do and wouldn't mind having a rational explaination on that if you feel like.
So forgive my non scientific semantic in this OP.

Also, I didn't want to put this in the coffee corner as it has something to do with the way images are recorded and then perceived so it could concern this area or any other area of image output.
Then, I suspect that our engineers are very present in this forum, for the number of graphics and charts I generally see arround here.

So apologies to MF artists, forgive my intrusion into the temple but this is a purely tech thread.

Ok, so I start:

If I remember (vagely) my physic's classes, I've learned that more an object moves fast, more it is necessary to increment a lot the energy in order to increase it's speed. If I remember well, it's because more an object moves fast, more it weights, so much more energy is requiered to keep going accelerating.
Am I right there ?

Well, I remembered this law because I had an experienced with the GH2 hack that seems a bit similar. (it's the MF forum so you could ask what the GH2 has to do? but I'd like to ask something in general, here that could also concern MF equipment.)

So, there is a camera that records 24 mb/s datas on card. I hack it to 44 mb/s. An increment in quality is clearly visible. Then, I said, fine, I'm going to hack it now at 88 mb/s. I was expecting the same optical increment, but no. From 24 to 44, I see a difference. From 44 to 88 I don't notice any difference. To start to notice a difference from 44 mb/s, I have to jump, not to the double but to more than the triple (almost 4 times).