Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CS5 and extracting a subject from the background  (Read 1306 times)

rcloud

CS5 and extracting a subject from the background
« on: January 09, 2012, 12:35:26 pm »

Hi guys, yesterday I shot my friend using my lighting for the first time.  The results were ok, but the background was not ideal and I didn't really know what I was doing with the lights, leading to a difficult shadow.  So I would like to remote the pictures from the wall as well as the shadow.  I'm new to PS.  Is clone stamp the best option for doing this or are there any other tricks.  I'm on a mac. 

Kind regards, and thanks for any advice

Sheldon N

Re: CS5 and extracting a subject from the background
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 12:42:30 pm »

Do some google searching on selections and the "Refine Edge" tool in CS5 using the brush tool to help define the edge. Too much to explain in one post, but there are some good youtube tutorials.

Very powerful tool and should be able to do what you want. Make a selection of the subject, then you could mask out and put them on a new background.

I would not use the clone tool.
Sheldon Nalos
[url=http://www.flickr.com

bill t.

• http://www.unit16.net
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2012, 02:51:15 pm »

Wow, that's gonna be a really tough picture to extract because your background varies from dark to bright, and so does the subject, in many different combinations.

Yes, check the tutorials.  You've got a fairly steep learning curve ahead.  You will probably need to make three or four different masks optimized for various parts of the images, then combine them.  Plan to some manual painting on the masks as well.

Although Refine Edge is pretty cool, there are some third party tools like OnOne's Mask Pro that are even better but unfortunately not especially intuitive.  You can download functional trial versions, methinks.  Watch the manufacturers' demo videos, those can help.

leuallen